Biology Graduate Student Organization

 

 BGSO

 

Contact Us: bgso@selu.edu

 

BGSO Officer
Officers 
President: Savannah Michaelsen
Vice-President: Whitney Walkowski
Secretary: Helen Plylar
Treasurer: Kenzie Bozeman
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
John Anjer
Jack Anjier

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Sewanee: The University of the South (2014)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: john.anjier@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetlands

Kenzie
Kenzie Bozeman

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Louisiana State University (2008)

Office: 122 Biology Building 
Phone: (985) 549 -3007
Email: kenzie.bozeman@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Amphibian Physiology
and Behavioral Ecology 

 Josh Cahal
Josh Cahal

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Stephen F Austin State University (2013)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: joshua.cahal@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Evolutionary Biology and Herpetology

Pam Clarkson
Pam Clarkson

Bachelor's of Arts in Biology
Minot State University (2011)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: pam.clarkson@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Conservation Biology, Herpetology, and Ethology

Glenn
Glenn Dobson

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2013)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: glenn.dobson@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Coastal Wetlands Restoration,
Biostatistics and Wetlands Ecology

Jordan Donini
Jordan Donini

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Florida Gulf Coast University (2011)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: jordan.donini@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Herpetology, Chelonian Biology, and Reptile Reproductive Biology

  micro
Erin Eiermann

Office: 238 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3503
Emailerin.eiermann@selu.edu
AdvisorDr. Gary Childers
Research Interests: Microbiology

      Diego Elias
Diego Elias

Licenciatura in Biology
Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala

Office: 222 Biology Building 
Phone: (985)549-3008
Email: diego.elias@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology

   Kim Foster
Kim Foster

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2014)

Office: 429 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: kimberly.foster@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, Phylogenetics, Systematics,
Geometric Morphometrics, and Philosophy of Science

Heather G

Heather Gautreaux

Bachelor's of Science in Biology Education
Southeastern Louisiana University

Office: 241 B Old Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3503
Email: heather.guillot-2@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Childers
Research Interests: Microbiology

Jillian Gautreaux
Jillian Gautreaux

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2012)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: jillian.gautreaux@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. David Sever
Research Interests: Histology

 ZachLegget
Zachary Leggett

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2014)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: zachary.leggett@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetland Restoration and Ecology

  Savannah
Savannah Michaelsen

Bachelor's of Science in Marine Biology,
The University of Southern Mississippi (2013)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: savannah.michaelsen@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Population and Conservation Genetics; Ichthyology.

Brie Meyer
Brie Myre

Bachelor's of Science in Fisheries and Wildlife,
University of Nebraska (2012)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone:(985) 549-3008
Email: brianna.myre@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Endocrinology
and Physiology

Amanda
Amanda Normand

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2012)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone:(985) 549-3009
Email: Amanda.Normand-2@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Coastal Wetland Ecology
and Restoration

Helen

 
Helen Bond Plylar

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2013)

Office: 222 Biology
Phone: (985)549-3008
Email: helen.plylar@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Herpetology, Snake Biology, Behavioral Ecology, and Vertebrate Vision.

 

 


Erica
Erica Rottmann

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2013)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985)549-3007
Email: erica.rottmann@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Molecular Ecology,
eDNA, Freshwater Ichthyology, and Conservation Biology 

Ariana Rupp
Ariana Rupp

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Sewanee: The University of the South (2014)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: ariana.rupp@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. David Sever
Research Interests: Herpetology and Histology

Eric Strickland
Eric Strickland

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2011)

Office: 429 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: eric.strickland@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Cypress- Tupelo Swamp Restoration
and Biostatistics

Eric Van Gorder
Eric Van Gorder

Bachelor's of Science in Chemistry
University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Office Number: 222 Biology Building
Phone Number: (985) 549-3008
Email: eric.van@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Entomology, Chemical Ecology, and Conservation Biology

 Whitney Walkowski

Whitney Walkowski

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Loyola University (2012)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: whitney.gentry@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Amphibian Reproduction and Communication

Danielle
Danielle Wasserman

Bachelor's of Arts in Biology
Hartwick College (2010)

Office: Vertebrate Museum, Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-2901
Email: danielle.wasserman@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology Collection Management,
Comparative Osteology, Animal Development and Phylogeny