Biology Graduate Student Organization

  

Contact Us: bgso@southeastern.edu

Officers 
President: Florence Wen
Vice-President: Oliver Ljustina
Secretary: Wren Vicknair
Treasurer: DeAnn Lemus
Faculty Advisor:Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
Shelby Barrett
Shelby Barrett

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
William Carey University (2015)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email:shelby.barrett@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Coastal Ecology, Wetland Ecology and Conservation, GIS/Remote Sensing, Biogeography

  
Jonathan Beard

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: jon.beard@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. John O'Reilly
Research Interests: Molecular Biology, Electrophysiology

 
Emily Bierbaum

Bachelor's of Science in Biology and Animal Ecology
Iowa State University (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: emily.bierbaum@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology, Amphibian Biology, Conservation Biology


 
Taston Brookshire 
Taston Brookshire

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email:taston.brookshire@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Life History of Tadpoles  

 
Tia Broady

Criminology, Criminal Justice, and Biology
Barton College (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: tia.broady@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensic Entomology, Forensic Pathology

 
Renato Saragoca Bruno

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Mackenzie University: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: renato.bruno@selu.edu
Advisor:Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Nesting Ecology, Reproductive Physiology 

Cecilia Boyd 
Cecilia Boyd

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Illinois Wesleyan University (2015)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email:cecilia.boyd@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Herpetology, Ecology, Conservation

Anna Gruszkiewicz 
Anna Gruszkiewicz

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Brigham Young University (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email:anna.gruszkiewicz@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Conservation Genetics, Phylogeography, and Systematics

  
Hayes Jones

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)


Email: hayes.jones@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Raul Diaz
Research Interests: Herpetology, Ecology

  
Aaron Krolow

Bachelor’s of Science in Aquatic Biology
 Texas State University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: aaron.krolow@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Aquatic Ecology, Conservation

 Deann Lemus
DeAnn Lemus

Bachelor’s of Arts in Criminal Justice
Southeastern Louisiana University (2011)

Email:deann.lemus@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensic Entomology

Oliver Ljustina   
Oliver Ljustina

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Florida International University (2014)

Office: 152 Biology Building
Email: oliver.ljustina@southeastern.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, Urban Ecology

 Maci Luquette
Maci Luquette

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Email:maci.luquette@southeastern.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Howard
Research Interests: Microbiology, Bacterial Metabolism

  
Carl Maiese

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Kutztown University (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: carl.maiese@southeastern.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology, physiology

Zach Nikolakis 
Zach Nikolakis

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Auburn University (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email:zach.nikolakis@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology and Molecular Phylogenetics

Elizabeth Taylor 
Elizabeth Taylor

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email:elizabeth.taylor@southeastern.edu
Advisor:Dr. Gary Howard
Research Interests: Nitrogen Metabolism of the Acinetobacter gerneri p7

 Wren Vicknair
Wren Vicknair

Louisiana State University
Natural Resource Ecology and Management (2016)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email:wren.vicknair@southeastern.edu
Advisor: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Ecology of Banded Watersnakes

Florence Wen 
Florence Wen

Bachelor's of Science in Biology and Public Relations
Syracuse University (2012)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email:florence.wen@southeastern.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Biology, Conservation Biology, and Reproductive Biology