Biology Graduate Student Organization

groupphoto

Contact Us: bgso@southeastern.edu

 

 

officerphoto2018

Officers 
President: Jerry Kattawar III
Vice President: Jon Beard
Secretary: Aaron Krolow
Treasurer: Emily Bierbaum
Faculty Advisor:Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
Jonathan Beard

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: jon.beard@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. John O'Reilly
Research Interests: Molecular biology, electrophysiology

 emilybierbaum2
Emily Bierbaum

Bachelor's of Science in Biology and Animal Ecology
Iowa State University (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: emily.bierbaum@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy and Dr. Raul Diaz 
Research Interests: Herpetology, amphibian morphology & development

Tia Broady

Criminology, Criminal Justice, and Biology
Barton College (2017)

Office: 326 Biology Building
Email: tia.broady@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Forensic entomology & pathology, ecology, evolutionary biology

Renato Saragoca Bruno

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Mackenzie University: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: renato.bruno@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea turtle nesting ecology, reproductive physiology 

christophercannon
Christopher Cannon

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeast Missouri State University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: christopher.cannon@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Ecology, herpetology, conservation biology

helencarter
Helen Carter

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email:  Helen.carter@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensic pathology & entomology, parasitology

kearstinfindley
Kearstin Findley

Bachelor’s of Science in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
 Rockford University (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: kearstin.findley@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Freshwater ecology & conservation, ichthyology, evolutionary biology

  
Hayes Jones

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Email: hayes.jones@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Raul Diaz
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology

 jerrykattawar
Jerry Kattawar III

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2013)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: jerry.kattawar@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Southeastern US fish diversity

christinakolbmann
Christina Kolbmann

Bachelor’s of Science in Animal Behavior, Ecology, & Conservation
 Canisius College (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: christina.kolbmann@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. April Wright
Research Interests: Speciation, computational biology

aaronkrolow 
Aaron Krolow

Bachelor’s of Science in Aquatic Biology
 Texas State University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: aaron.krolow@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Aquatic ecology, conservation biology

Deann Lemus
DeAnn Lemus

Bachelor’s of Arts in Criminal Justice
Southeastern Louisiana University (2011)

Email:  deann.lemus@southeastern.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensic entomology

lindymuse 
Lindy Muse

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Louisiana at Lafayette (2014)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: Lindy.muse@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology, conservation biology

laruelnavepowers
Laurel Nave-Powers

Bachelor’s of Science in Fisheries and Wildlife
Oregon State University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: laurel.nave-powers@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, morphology, evolutionary biology

 juanpacheco
Juan Pacheco

Bachelor's of Science in Chemistry and Pharmacy
University of El Salvador (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: juan.pacheco@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Molecular biology, microbiology

brookeperrera
Brooke Perrera

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: brooke.perrera@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology

markrimkus
Mark Rimkus

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Virginia (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: mark.rimkus@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Sea turtle ecology

meganryba
Megan Ryba

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 University of Central Missouri (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: megan.ryba@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, ecology, conservation biology

louisstanley
Louis Stanley

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Louisiana State University (2012)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: louis.stanley@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Snake behavioral ecology, historic biogeography

tylerstevens 
Tyler Stevens

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Louisiana State University (2015)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Email: tyler.stevens@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetland ecology & conservation

 sarahward
Sarah Ward

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoo and Wildlife Biology
 Bob Jones University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email:  sarah.ward-2@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, morphology, biogeography