Biology Graduate Student Organization

2019 BGSO membersFall 2019 Members 

2019 BGSO Officers

Officers 
President: Lindy Muse
Vice President: Brooke Perrera
Secretary: Laurel Nave-Powers
Treasurer: Helen Carter
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
brock

Tyler Brock

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Piedmont College (2019)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: tyler.brock@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology

christophercannon

Christopher Cannon

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeast Missouri State University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: christopher.cannon@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Life-history biology, Amphibian Development

helencarter

Helen Carter

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: Helen.carter@southeastern.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensic entomology, infrared radiation

 Crockett

Tessera (Tess) Crockett

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2019)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Email: tessera.crockett@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetlands, ecology, conservation

 Ebanks

Ariel Ebanks

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Email: ariel.ebanks@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Plant ecology, wetlands restoration, mycology, bioremediation

Findley

Kearstin Findley

Bachelor’s of Science in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
 Rockford University (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: kearstin.findley@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: GIS, Ecological Niche Modeling, Freshwater fish ecology

 Henderson

Max Henderson

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology (hons) Newcastle University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email:  Max.henderson@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Crocodilian conservation, Ecological toxicology

christinakolbmann

Christina Kolbmann

Bachelor’s of Science in Animal Behavior, Ecology, & Conservation
 Canisius College (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: christina.kolbmann@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. April Wright
Research Interests: Speciation, computational biology

 Mahoney

Victoria Mahoney

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Tennessee Technological University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: victoria.mahoney@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, conservation biology

lindymuse 

Lindy Muse

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Louisiana at Lafayette (2014)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: Lindy.muse@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology, conservation biology

laruelnavepowers

Laurel Nave-Powers

Bachelor’s of Science in Fisheries and Wildlife
Oregon State University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: laurel.nave-powers@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, morphology, evolutionary biology

brookeperrera

Brooke Perrera

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: brooke.perrera@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Urban herpertology, freshwater turtle ecology

 Pigott

Elisabeth Pigott

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Louisiana at Lafayette (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: elisabeth.pigott@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Native bees, pollination ecology, community ecology

 Presler

Laura Presler

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Avila University (2019)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: laura.presler@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Conservation biology, Melittology

Rivera 

Joshua Rivera

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Taxas-Pan American (2014)

Office: Vertebrate Museum
Email:  joshua.rivera@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, disease ecology, morphology

 Robertson

Andrew Robertson

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Southern Mississippi (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: andrew.robertson-3@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Entomology, myrmecology, ecology

meganryba

Megan Ryba

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 University of Central Missouri (2017)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: megan.ryba@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, ecology, conservation biology

louisstanley

Louis Stanley

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Louisiana State University (2012)

Email: louis.stanley@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Snake behavioral ecology, historic biogeography

 Ward

Sarah Ward

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoo and Wildlife Biology
 Bob Jones University (2017)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: sarah.ward-2@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research interests: Ichthyology, morphology, biogeography

Whiting 

 

Dani Whiting

Environmental and Organismal Biology Southwestern Oklahoma State University (2019)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: dani.whiting@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Amphibian biology, ecotoxicology

 Yang

Mercy Yang

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2019)

Email: mercy.yang@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Gary Childers
Research Interests: medical and environmental microbiology