Master of Science in Counseling


Counseling Program Mission Statement

The mission of the Counseling Program at Southeastern Louisiana University is to prepare future counselors with the knowledge and skills necessary for entry into the profession through coursework and field-based activities.

Admission Requirements and Criteria

Degree Requirements



All are nationally accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP). Program faculty members are nationally/internationally recognized as leaders in the counseling field. All graduates, regardless of concentration, receive the same degree, a Master of Science in Counseling. The academic coursework in all concentrations meets the academic requirements for licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) in Louisiana as well as most other states.


The Counseling Program consists of a minimum of sixty (60) hours of study. A student's last two semesters consist of a clinical internship at an approved site. The internship is very close to a full-time experience (approximately 30 hours per week), and students are only allowed to take one additional class along with internship for a maximum of six hours each semester of internship.


If you have any questions, please click here to submit a program inquiry form.


Guest Student Enrollment Information


Counseling Student Handbook

The student handbook provides current and prospective students with an overview of the graduate counseling program. The student handbook gives an overview of the counseling graduate program, its program objectives, requirements for licensure, and information on the three specialty areas: Clinical Mental Health Counseling, School Counseling, and Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling. Additionally, the student handbook provides professional and campus resources for students pursing this degree.

 Student Outcomes

 2017-2018 Counseling Program Evaluation Report

 Program Evaluation Documents 2017-2018


Counseling Faculty


Left to right: Dr. June Williams, Dr. Michael Leeman, Dr. Wendy Rock, Dr. Reshelle Marino, Dr. Laura Fazio-Griffith