About the Department

Welcome to Kinesiology and Health Studies



Graduate Hooding - Dec 2007

 

College of Nursing and Health Sciences' Hooding Ceremony for graduate students graduating in Dec 2007. From left: Dr. Christina Merckx, Dr. Ralph Wood, Dr. Jennifer Jeansonne, Pam Brown (graduate student), Louvenia Askew (graduate student), Dr. Donnie Booth (Dean of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences), Demetra Dantzler (graduate student), Dr. Robert Kraemer, and Dr. Eddie Hebert

 

The Department of Kinesiology and Health Studies is one of three academic departments in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences. Our department is one of the largest of its kind in the state with over 600 undergraduate majors, and our faculty are regarded as great teachers and active researchers. We offer a variety of undergraduate programs and a master’s degree in Health and Kinesiology.

 

Undergraduate areas of study are: 

 

Graduate Program
Students pursuing the masters degree in Health and Kinesiology may elect to concentrate in Exercise Science, Health Promotion & Exercise Science, Health Studies, or Kinesiology. Graduate assistantships are available.

 

Other Offerings and Resources

  • Courses leading to certification in Adapted Physical Education
  • A range of swimming and aquatics courses
  • A variety of activity-based Kinesiology lab courses open to all students
  • Student organizations for the areas of study

 

Location: Kinesiology and Health Studies Building, 400 Tennessee Street
Phone: (985) 549-2129
Fax: (985) 549-5119
Mailing address: SLU Box 10845, Hammond LA 70402

 

Contact information


Department Head: Dr. Eddie Hebert, ehebert@selu.edu


Athletic Training: Erin Karch, ekarch@selu.edu
Exercise Science: Dr. Bovorn Sirikul,bsirikul@selu.edu
Fitness and Human Performance: Dr. Dan Hollander, dhollander@selu.edu
Health and Physical Education, Dr. Charlotte Humphries, chumphries@selu.edu
Health Education and Promotion: Dr. Ralph Wood, rwood@selu.edu
Sport Management: Dr. Ashley Bowers, abowers@selu.edu

 

Graduate Coordinator: Dr. Millie Naquin, mnaquin@selu.edu

 

Advising Coordinator: Keri Larsen, klarsen@selu.edu
Aquatics and Pool: Dr. Bing Wei Athey, bathey@selu.edu



CONTACT USCAMPUS MAPDIRECTORIES |  GIVING  | MOODLELEONETWEBMAIL