Dr. Philip Schuessler


Instructor of Theory and Composition


Pottle 105 
(985) 549-2197



SchuesslerRecently selected as Music Teachers National Association Distinguished Composer of the Year, Philip Schuessler explores the intricacies of subtle timbres and delicate dynamics through extended acoustic and electro-acoustic resources. Many world-renowned artists and ensembles such as Yarn/Wire, Hypercube, Mantra Percussion Ensemble, Dither Guitar Quartet, iKtus Percussion, violinist Graeme Jennings, cellist Craig Hultgren, and soprano Tony Arnold have championed his music. He has had works performed at notable venues such as June in Buffalo, Festival Miami, the Czech-American Summer Music Workshop, CCMIX in Paris, SEAMUS Conferences, Electronic Music Midwest, New Music Forum in San Francisco, the School for Designing a Society in Urbana, Illinois, Electroacoustic Juke Joint in Cleveland, Mississippi, New Music on the Bayou, and the Mise-En Festival in New York. He has also been a participant at the MusicX Festival, the Ernst Bloch Music Festival, the Elliott Carter/Oliver Knussen Chamber Music Intensive Workshop at Carnegie Hall, and the Oregon Bach Festival. His electro-acoustic music has been recognized in France by Elektrophonie’s NuitBleue Music Festival, the Futura Festival, and the Bourges Residence.

Recent awards also include the Duo Fujin Composition Competition, the International Cello Loft Call for Scores, and the Random Access Music Call for Scores. He is also the recent recipient of a Composers Assistance Program grant from New Music USA. Schuessler received his Bachelors Degree in composition at Birmingham-Southern College, his Masters Degree from the University of Miami, and his PhD from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. His teachers have included Charles Mason, Dorothy Hindman Dennis Kam, Keith Kothman, Dan Weymouth, Sheila Silver, Perry Goldstein, and Daria Semegen.

He is currently an instructor of music theory and composition at Southeastern Louisiana University. His music is published by Pendula Music, Alia Music, Murphy Music Press, Potenza Music, and SCI Journal of Scores. Recordings of his compositions may be found on the Centaur, Curvepoint Media, Janus, and Capstone labels.

More information can be found at www.philipschuessler.com.