Florida Parishes


Those portions of Southeast Louisiana north of the Bayou Manchac-Amite River-Lakes
Maurepas-Pontchartrain and -Borgne confluences, south of the Thirty-first degree North
latitude, east of the Mississippi and west of the Pearl River are historically identified
the Florida Parishes.

Experiencing overlordship by French, British, Spanish and American military occupiers
respectively, the eight modern parishes of East Baton Rouge, West Feliciana, East
Feliciana, St. Helena, Livingston, Tangipahoa, Washington and St. Tammany maintain
a distinct regional identity linked by geography and a peculiar common history.


Only the Florida Parishes

  • boasts association with every major colonial power occupying Louisiana.

  • remained separate and distinct from the original Louisiana Purchase.

  • shaped its own destiny through an armed insurrection successfully overthrowing the
    existing government and leading to the establishment of an independent nation, the
    original “Lone Star Republic” of West Florida.

  • witnessed fierce feud-related violence earning the ominous distinction as home to
    some of the highest rural homicide rates ever recorded in American history.


Flags which have flown over the Florida Parishes:


Spanish flag of Castile and LeonRoyal Spanish flag of Castile and Leon


fleur de lis French Fleur de Lis Royal Flag


union jack 1606 British Union Jack (late 1700s)


British flag Spanish national Flag


us flag in 1803 U.S. flag (1795-1818)


west fla flag Flag of the West Florida Republic, 1810


louisiana secession flag Louisiana Secession flag, 1861


confederate stars and bars flag First Confederate national flag


louisiana flag Louisiana state flag