Biology Graduate Student Organization

Group

Fall 2022 - Spring 2023 Members

 

 Officers

Officers 

President: Sarah Sexton
Vice President: Shawn Pladas
Secretary: Dakotah Henn
Treasurer: Nicole Dede
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us 

Taylor Bahm

Tanner Bahm 

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana Universtiy (2022)

Pronouns: She/Her


Email: tanner.bahm@selu.edu
Adviser:Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, environmental DNA

Jacob

Jacob Barthelemy

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2022)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: jacob.barthelemy@selu.edu 
Adviser:  Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Evolution, development, diversification

Travis

Travis Bayer

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoology
Minnesota State University (2021)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: travis.bayer@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Teague O'Mara
Research Interests: Wildlife movement and migration, wildlife tracking, conservation

Kari Dawson

Kari Dawson 

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Winston-Salem State University (2018)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: kari.dawson@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea turtles, nesting ecology, marine ecosystems, climate change

 
Nicole Dede  

Nicole Dede

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoology, Minor in Chemistry
 Olivet Nazarene University (2021)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 222Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: nicole.dede@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Entomology, pollinator ecology

Allison

Allison DeLoache

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology, Toxicology Emphasis
Clemson University (2022)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: allison.deloache@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle PillerDr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Fish community ecology, ecotoxicology

Tom

Thomas Dodson

 

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: thomas.dodson@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Fisheries science, paleontology, freshwater biology

Gaelyn

Gaelyn Gros

Bachelor’s of Science in Marine Biology
University of Southern Mississippi (2018)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: gaelyn.gros@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, eDNA, landscape genetics, GIS

Vince

Vince Hart

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2022)

 

Office: 426 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: vincent.hart@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Eva Hillmann, Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Aquatic vegetation, conservation, praying mantises

 
Dakotah

Dakotah Henn

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoology
 Olivet Nazarene University (2021)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: dakotah.henn@selu.edu 
Adviser:  Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Herpetology, ecology, morphology, evolutionary biology, conservation, education

t

Tristan Herod

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology and Environmental Studies
Eckerd College (2020)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: tristan.herod@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Reptile ecology, conservation, temperature sex determination 

Casey

Casey Kennedy

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2021)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 426 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: casey.kennedy@selu.edu 
Adviser: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Ecology, wetland restoration, dendrology

Joslyn

Joslyn Kent

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology, Environmental Science, and Environmental Studies
University of Minnesota, Morris (2021)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: joslyn.kent@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea turtles, marine conservation

Basanta

Basanta Khakurel

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology, Integrative Concentration
Southeastern Louisiana University (2021)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: basanta.khakurel@selu.edu
Adviser:Dr. April Wright
Research Interests: Systematics, phylogenetics, and computational biology

Bee

Abby "Bee" Klahs

Bachelor’s of Science
Iowa State University (2021)

Pronouns: They/Them

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: abby.klahs@selu.edu
Adviser:Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Larval salamanders, morphology, ontogeny, life history

Anna  

Anna Lander

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2019)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: anna.lander@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology, microbial ecology, wetlands ecology

Chi Jing

ChiJing Leow

Bachelor’s of Arts in Biology
Asbury University (2020)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: chijing.leow@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, conservation genetics, RNA sequencing 

Cam

Cam Oathout

Bachelor’s of Science in Fisheries and Wildlife University of Nebraska-Lincoln (2021)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: camden.oathout@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Environmental DNA, fish communities

Taylor

Taylor Parker

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2022)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 426 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: taylor.parker-3@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetland ecology, conservation, and habitat restoration

Micalea

Micaela Pineda

Bachelor’s of Science in Wildlife Management and Conservation Biology
Humboldt State University (2018)

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: micaela.pineda@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Teague O'Mara
Research Interests: Animal behavior, movement ecology  

Robertson

Shawn Pladas

Bachelor’s of Science in Wildlife Biology and Conservation
University of Utah (2016)

Pronouns: He/Him

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: shawn.pladas@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Teague O'Mara
Research Interests: Migration, population dynamics, movement ecology, stable isotopes

Sarah

Sarah Sexton

Bachelor’s of Science in Marine Science, Bachelor’s of Arts in Spanish
University of Tampa (2021)

Pronouns: She/Her

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: sarah.sexton@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Animal physiology, endocrinology, marine ecology