Biology Graduate Student Organization

BGSO 

Contact Us: bgso@selu.edu

BGSO Officers

Officers 
President: James Erdman
Vice-President: Sara McDonald
Secretary: Cooper Campbell
Treasurer: Cody Godwin
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
Shelby Barrett

Shelby Barrett

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
William Carey University (2015)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: shelby.barrett@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Coastal Ecology, Wetland Ecology and Conservation, GIS/Remote Sensing, Biogeography

 

Kalie Beckers

Email: kalie.beckers@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Howard
Research Interests: Microbiology

Tim Borgardt 

 Tim Borgardt

Bachelor's of Science in Earth and Environmental Studies
University of New Orleans

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: timothy.borgardt@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology and Conservation Biology

Taston Brookshire 
Taston Brookshire

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: taston.brookshire@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Life History of Tadpoles  

Cecilia Boyd 
Cecilia Boyd

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Illinois Wesleyan University (2015)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: cecilia.boyd@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Herpetology, Amphiuma Life History

 Ashley Buford
Ashley Buford

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2015)

Office: 241 Biology Building
Email: ashley.buford@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Childers
Research Interests: Microbiology, Immunology, Antibiotic Resistance

 Cooper Campbell
Cooper Campbell

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
University of Southern Mississippi (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: dave.campbell@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Population Genetics and Evolutionary Ecology

 
James Erdman 
James Erdman

Bachelor's of Science in Zoology
University of Wyoming (2015)

Office: 152 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-2901
Email: james.erdmann@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Chris Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology, Natural History, Mycology, Entomology, Evolution, Ecology, and Ethology

Jillian Gautreaux
Jillian Gautreaux

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2012)

Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
Email: jillian.gautreaux@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. David Sever
Research Interests: Histology

Cody Godwin 
Cody Godwin

Bachelor's of Science in Wildlife Concervation
University of Florida (2014)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: cody.godwin@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology and Conservation Biology

 
Anna Gruszkiewicz 

Anna Gruszkiewicz

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Brigham Young University (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: anna.gruszkiewicz@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Conservation Genetics, Phylogeography, and Systematics

 ZachLegget
Zachary Leggett

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2014)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: zachary.leggett@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetland Restoration and Ecology

 

DeAnn Lemus

Bachelor’s of Science in Criminal Justice
Southeastern Louisiana University

Email: deann.lemus@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Erin Watson-Horzelski
Research Interests: Forensics, Forensic Entomology

Oliver Ljustina   

Oliver Ljustina

Office: 152 Biology Building
Email: oliver.ljustina@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, Urban Ecology, Convergent Evolution

 

 Maci Luquette

Email: maci.luquette@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Howard
Research Interests: Microbiology

 Sara Simmons
Sara Simmons McDonald

Bachelor's of Science in Natural Resources
Oregeon State University (2012)

Office Number: 122 Biology Building
Phone Number: (985) 549-3007
Email: sara.simmons@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Conservation Biology, Ecology, GIS, Arthropod Vector Ecology, Vector-Borne Diseases

Zach Nikolakis 

Zach Nikolakis

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Auburn University (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: zach.nikolakis@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology and Molecular Phylogenetics

 Elyse Parker
Elyse Parker

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Yale University (2014)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: chantal.parker@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology and Phylogeography

Melanie Partin 
Melanie Partin

Bachelor's of Science in Biology

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: melanie.partin@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Chris Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology and Physiology

 

Erica
Erica Rottmann

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2013)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985)549-3007
Email: erica.rottmann@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Molecular Ecology,
eDNA, Freshwater Ichthyology, and Conservation Biology 

Kat Rich 

Katherine Rich

Bachelor’s of Science in Wildlife Ecology
University of Florida (2013)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: katherine.rich@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Chelonian Biology, Conservation Biology and Conservation Genetics

Elizabeth Taylor 

Elizabeth Taylor

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Southeastern Louisiana University (2016)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: elizabeth.taylor@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Gary Howard
Research Interests: Nitrogen Metabolism of the Acinetobacter gerneri p7

Eric Van Gorder
Eric Van Gorder

Bachelor's of Science in Chemistry
University of North Carolina at Wilmington (2014)

Office Number: 221 Biology Building
Phone Number: (985) 549-3007
Email: eric.van@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Entomology, Chemical Ecology, and Conservation Biology

 Wren Vicknair

Wren Vicknair

Louisiana State University
Natural Resource Ecology and Management (2016)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3007
Email: wren.vicknair@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Clifford Fontenot
Research Interests: Ecology of Banded Watersnakes

 Marth Villalba
Martha Villalba 

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Barnard Collage - Columbia University (2012)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: martha.villalba-guerra@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Biology

Florence Wen 

Florence Wen

Bachelor's of Science in Biology and Public Relations
Syracuse University (2012)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3008
Email: florence.wen@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Roldan Valverde
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Biology
Research Interests: Sea Turtle Biology, Conservation Biology, and Reproductive Biology

Courtney Weyand

Courtney Weyand

Bachelor's of Science in Chemistry
Austin Peay State University (2015)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Phone: (985) 549-3009
Email: courtney.weyand@selu.edu
Advisor: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Conservation Genetics, Phylogeography, and Systematics