Biology Graduate Student Organization

2020 BGSO members

BGSOcasualFALL2020

Fall 2020 Members 

2020 BGSO Officers

Officers 
President: Joshua Rivera
Vice President: Elisabeth Pigott
Secretary: Victoria Mahoney
Treasurer: Andrew Robertson
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Brian Crother

  

Meet Us

 
brock

Tyler Brock

Bachelor's of Science in Biology
Piedmont College (2019)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: tyler.brock@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology

Crockett

Tessera (Tess) Crockett

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2019)

Office: 426 Biology Building
Email: tessera.crockett@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Gary Shaffer
Research Interests: Wetlands, ecology, conservation

clairecrookston

Claire Crookston

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoology, Minor in Conservation Biology
Colorado State University (2019)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: claire.crookston@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Amphibian biology/development, reproductive seasonality of secondary sex characteristics

Ebanks

Ariel Ebanks

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2017)

Office: 426 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: ariel.ebanks@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Demetra Kandalepas
Research Interests: Plant ecology, wetlands restoration, mycology, bioremediation

 Herod

Tristan Herod

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology and Environmental Studies
Eckerd College (2020)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: tristan.herod@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Ecology and conservation of reptiles, temperature sex determination

 
 
carolinehonan

Caroline Honan

Bachelor’s of Science in Wildlife Biology
Unity College (2020)

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: caroline.honan@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, injury distribution, ecology

sorenjohnson

Soren Johnson

Bachelor’s of Science in Zoology
 Olivet Nazarene University (2019)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: soren.johnson@southeastern.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Population and conservation genetics, Ichthyology

jorgelopezperez

Jorge Lopez-Perez

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Eckerd College (2020)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: jorge.lopez-perez@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Murray
Research Interests: Ecoimmunology, physiological ecology, life-history, conservation of herpetofauna

 Mahoney

Victoria Mahoney

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Tennessee Technological University (2018)

Office: 222 Biology Building
Email: victoria.mahoney@selu.edu
Adviser:  Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, conservation biology

brittanymaldonado

Brittany Maldonado

Bachelor's of Science in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Tulane University (2018)

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: brittany.maldonado@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Herpetology, urban ecology, invasive species

Pigott

Elisabeth Pigott

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Louisiana at Lafayette (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: elisabeth.pigott@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Native bees, pollination ecology, community ecology

   
   
 Presler

Laura Presler

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
Avila University (2019)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: laura.presler@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Conservation biology, Melittology

Rivera 

Joshua Rivera

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Texas-Pan American (2014)

Office: Vertebrate Museum
Email:  joshua.rivera@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Herpetology, disease ecology, morphology

 Robertson

Andrew Robertson

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology
University of Southern Mississippi (2018)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: andrew.robertson-3@selu.edu
Adviser: Dr. Janice Bossart
Research Interests: Entomology, myrmecology, ecology

 coreysamples

 

Corey Samples

Bachelor’s of Science Biology, Applied Concentration. Minor in Environmental Sciences
Louisiana Tech University (2019)

Office: 222 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: corey.samples@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Christopher Beachy
Research Interests: Conservation, evolution, ecology, wildlife habitat management, invasive species

 
 Andrew Sherman

Andrew Sherman

Bachelor’s of Science in Biology with Honors
 Southeastern Louisiana University (2020)

Office: 122 Thelma Ryan Hall
Email: andrew.sherman-2@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Kyle Piller
Research Interests: Ichthyology, conservation and population genetics, evolutionary biology

 
 

 

   
Whiting 

Dani Whiting

Environmental and Organismal Biology Southwestern Oklahoma State University (2019)

Office: 122 Biology Building
Email: dani.whiting@southeastern.edu
Adviser: Dr. Brian Crother
Research Interests: Amphibian biology, ecotoxicology