Computer Science Faculty

Full Time Faculty

 

 Quoc-Nam Tran, Department Head

Quoc-Nam Tran, Ph.D.

Department Head

Title: Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3040
Phone: (985) 549-2189
Email: quoc-nam.tran@southeastern.edu


John Burris

John Burris, Ph.D.

Undergraduate Coordinator

Title: Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3021
Phone: (985) 549-5314
Email: john.burris-3@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Ethics, Networking, Theory of Computing, Software Engineering, Programming Languages, Cybersecurity

 Bonnie Stegen

 Bonnie Achee, Ph.D.

Title: Instructor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3026
Phone: (985) 549-5740
Email: bonnie.achee@southeastern.edu 
Expertise: Computer Science Education, Social Media Data Mining,and Digital Humanities

  Ghassan Alkadi

Ghassan Alkadi, Ph.D.

Title: Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3018
Phone: (985) 549-5099
Email: galkadi@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Introduction to Programming, Applications of Computing in Science and Technology, Software Engineering, and Information Systems

  

Dr. Cris Koutsougeras

 

Cris Koutsougeras, Ph.D.

Title: Professor of Computer Science and Engineering Technology
         Holder of the Bellsouth Endowed Professorship 
Location: CSTB 3028
Phone: (985) 549-5315
Email: ck@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Technologies and Programming for the Web, Neural Networks, Microprocessors and Interfacing, Automata Theory, Engineering Technology, Energy Airfoils.

 

Patrick McDowell

 

Patrick McDowell, Ph.D.

Title: Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3005
Phone: (985) 549-5506
Email: Patrick.Mcdowell@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Data Analysis, Operating Systems, Computer Graphics, AI, Robotics, Game Programming
 Matthew McNulty

 

Matthew McNulty

Title: Instructor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3023
Phone: (985) 549-2037
Email: Matthew.McNulty-2@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Introduction to Programming, Survey of Computing

  

Steele Russell

Steele Russell

Title: Instructor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3022
Phone: (985) 549-5505
Email: srussell@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science, and Neural Networks
 Dr. Kazim Sekeroglu

 

Kazim Sekeroglu, Ph.D.

Title:  Instructor, Computer Science
Location:  CSTB 3025
Phone:  (985) 549-2073
Expertise:  Deep Learning, Computer Vision, Image processing, Computer Aided Detection and Diagnosis, Biomedical Informatic. 

  

Allanagh Sewell

 

Allanagh Sewell

Title: Instructor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3020
Phone: (985) 549-5105
Email: asewell@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Microsoft Office certified in Word, Excel and PowerPoint; Desktop Publishing; Web Design

 

 Ömer M. Soysal

 

Ömer M. Soysal, Ph.D.

Title: Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3024
Phone: (985) 549-3769
Email: Omer.Soysal@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pattern Recognition, Geographic Information Systems, Brain Activity Recognition, Computer Aided Tumor Detection, Traffic Accident Data Analysis

  

Kuo-Pao Yang

Kuo-Pao Yang, Ph.D.

Title: Professor of Computer Science
Location: CSTB 3019
Phone: (985) 549-5088
Email: kyang@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Computer Architecture, Programming Languages, Data Structures, and Operating Systems

  

Adjunct Faculty  

 Ray Dejean

 Ray DeJean

Title: Adjunct Instructor, Computer Science
Location: MCCL 109F
Phone: (985) 549-3643
Email: ray@southeastern.edu
Expertise: Information Security, Ethical Hacking, Networking, Unix and Linux 

 Matt Gill

 Matt Gill

Title:  Adjunct Instructor, Computer Science
Location: MCCL 206
Phone:  (985) 549-6288
Email:  mg@southeastern.edu  
Expertise:  Systems Administration, Information Security, and Software Engineering
 
   

  

 

Administrative Staff

 

  

 

Charlene Martin-Nixon

Title: Administrative Assistant III
Location: CSTB 3038
Dept. Phone:(985) 549-5740
Dept. Fax: (985) 549-5532
Email: cnixon@southeastern.edu
Address: SLU 10847, Hammond, LA 70402