Academic Advising

 

Brad Bergeron


Academic advising is an opportunity to meet with your assigned advisor to receive the personal attention necessary for academic success. Together you will develop strategies for overcoming any obstacles that may impede your educational and life goals.

You can make an appointment to see your advisor through email. Their email address is listed below and the reception office is located in Southeastern Hall, Room 113.

CSE Advisors only advise 1st and 2nd semester freshmen.

Third semester freshmen and upperclassmen are advised within their major's department. Call 985-549-2000 to get in touch with your major's department.

During a student's first semester, they are required to take their Freshmen Success course, SE 101. The instructor of the SE 101 course will be that student's advisor for two semesters (Fall and Spring), unless the student is a Sophomore after their 1st semester at Southeastern (due to transfer credits).

Students meet with their CSE Advisor to: (1) discuss their academic and career goals, (2) create a study plan to help them achieve their goals, (3) explore career possibilities as appropriate, and (4) complete course advising for the following semester.

 
Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following charts show the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Brad Bergeron, Senior Advisor

Psychology 
Sociology 
Criminal Justice

985-549-3110

110

bbergeron@southeastern.edu

Wayne Aymond

English, English Education,
History,Political Science,
Social Studies Education,
Music, Music Education

985-549-3253

120

Wayne.Aymond@southeastern.edu

Heidi Scheuermann

Art, Art Education, Communication,
Speech Education,
Spanish, Spanish Education

985-549-5923

 128

heidi.scheuermann@southeastern.edu

Linda Lentz,

Senior Advisor

General Studies

985-549-2523 129 linda.lentz@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Business

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Deborah Lowry,

Business Administration,  Management

985-549-3249

102

Deborah.Lowry@southeastern.edu

Karen Shields

Accounting,
Finance, Marketing,
Supply Chain Mgmt

985-549-5719

 125

Karen.Shields@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Education

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Christin Dillon

ALL Education majors:
ECED Pre K - 3, ELED 1-5,
MSED 4-8, SEME

985-549-5497

101

Christin.Dillon@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Kerri Ouber,Senior Advisor

Social Work

Athletic Training,
Communication Sciences & Disorders,

Family and Consumer Sciences,
Health Education & Promotion,

Health & Physical Education,

Health Studies,
Kinesiology,

Nursing, and

Sport Management

985-549-5978

107

Kerri.Ouber@southeastern.edu

Louvenia Askew

Athletic Training,
Communication Sciences & Disorders,

Family and Consumer Sciences,
Health Education & Promotion,

Health & Physical Education,

Health Studies,
Kinesiology,

Nursing, and

Sport Management

985-549-5662

103

laskew@selu.edu 

Gabe Willis Athletic Training,
Communication Sciences & Disorders,

Family and Consumer Sciences,
Health Education & Promotion,

Health & Physical Education,

Health Studies,
Kinesiology,

Nursing, and

Sport Management

985-549-3246 118 Gabe.Willlis@southeastern.edu


Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Science and Technology

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Mindy Notariano,
Senior Advisor



Chemistry,
Engineering Technology,
Mathematics, Physics (& Pre-Engineering)

985-
549-3789

123

 

Mindy.Notariano@southeastern.edu

Mike Nettles

Computer Science & ITEC,
Engineering Technology
Industrial Technology,
Occupational Safety Health, & Environment

985-
549-3786

104

Michael.Nettles@southeastern.edu

Nonita Valverde

Biology

985-
549-3038

131

Nonita.Valverde@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

CSE for Undecided Majors

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Linda Lentz

Undecided

985-549-2523

129

Linda.Lentz@southeastern.edu

Linda Ban

Undecided

985-549-3065

127

Linda.Ban@southeastern.edu

Erin Rode-Fiorello

Undecided

985-549-2252

126

 Erin.Rode@selu.edu

 

Helpful Links