Academic Advising

 

Brad Bergeron


Academic advising is an opportunity to meet with your assigned advisor to receive the personal attention necessary for academic success. Together you will develop strategies for overcoming any obstacles that may impede your educational and life goals.

You can make an appointment to see your advisor through email. Their email address is listed below and the reception office is located in the Student Union Annex, Room 1102.

CSE Advisors only advise 1st and 2nd semester freshmen.

Third semester freshmen and upperclassmen are advised within their major's department. Call 985-549-2000 to get in touch with your major's department.

During a student's first semester, they are required to take their Freshmen Success course, SE 101. The instructor of the SE 101 course will be that student's advisor for two semesters (Fall and Spring), unless the student is a Sophomore after their 1st semester at Southeastern (due to transfer credits).

Students meet with their CSE Advisor to: (1) discuss their academic and career goals, (2) create a study plan to help them achieve their goals, (3) explore career possibilities as appropriate, and (4) complete course advising for the following semester.

 
Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following charts show the expertise area of each advisor:

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Brad Bergeron, Senior Advisor

Psychology 
Sociology 
Criminal Justice

985-549-3110

1114

bbergeron@southeastern.edu

Karen Shields

English, English Education,
History,Political Science,
Social Studies Education

985-549-5719

1113

Karen.Shields@southeastern.edu

Amanda Hammonds

Art, Art Education, Communication,
Speech Education,
Spanish, Spanish Education,
Music, Music Education

985-549-5923

 1112

ahammonds@selu.edu

Linda Lentz,

Senior Advisor

General Studies

985-549-2523 1106

linda.lentz@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Business

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Deborah Lowry,
Senior Advisor

Accounting,
Finance, Marketing,
Supply Chain Mgmt

985-549-3249

1105

Deborah.Lowry@southeastern.edu

Kandace Formaggio

Business Administration,  Management

985-549-5978

 1107

Kandace.Formaggio@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Education

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Rachael Smith

ALL Education majors:
ECED Pre K - 3, ELED 1-5,
MSED 4-8, SEME

985-549-5497

1111

rachael.smith@selu.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Mindy Notariano,
Senior Advisor

Social Work

Communication Sciences & Disorders,

Family and Consumer Sciences,and
Health Systems Management

985-
549-3789

1116

Mindy.Notariano@southeastern.edu

Liz Hogan

Athletic Training,
Health Education & Promotion,

Health & Physical Education,

Kinesiology, and

Sport Management

985-549-5662

1117

elizabeth.hogan@selu.edu

Dr. Gabe Willis

Nursing

985-549-3246 1115

Gabe.Willlis@southeastern.edu

Jennifer Whisenhunt Nursing 985-549-3795 1118

jennifer.whisenhunt@selu.edu

Taylor Bergeron  Nursing 985-549-3786 1109

taylor.bergeron@selu.edu


Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

College of Science and Technology

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Wayne Aymond,
Senior Advisor



Chemistry, Computer Science/Information Technology,
Engineering Technology, Industrial Technology, Math, 
Occupational Safety Health, & Environment, Physics (& Pre-Engineering)

985-
549-3253

1110

 Wayne.Aymond@southeastern.edu

 

Erin Rode-Fiorello

Chemistry, Computer Science/Information Technology,
Engineering Technology, Industrial Technology, Math, 
Occupational Safety Health, & Environment, Physics (& Pre-Engineering)
985-
549-2252

1103

erin.rode@selu.edu

Nonita Valverde

Biology

985-
549-3038

1108

Nonita.Valverde@southeastern.edu

 

Even though students are assigned to advisors by who is teaching their SE 101 course, the following chart shows the expertise of each advisor over the last several years:

CSE for Undecided Majors

Advisor

Major Expertise

Phone

Office

(SUA)

E-Mail

Linda Lentz,
Senior Advisor

Undecided

985-549-2523

1106

Linda.Lentz@southeastern.edu

Linda Ban

Undecided

985-549-3065

1104

Linda.Ban@southeastern.edu

Amy McClain

Undecided

985-549-3454

1124

 amy.mcclain@selu.edu

 

Helpful Links