Academic Advising

Academic Advising for Freshmen

First Two Regular (Fall and Spring) Semesters or 30 hours, whichever comes first
Brad Bergeron

Academic advising is an opportunity to meet with your assigned advisor to receive the personal attention necessary for academic success. Together you will develop strategies for overcoming any obstacles that may impede your educational and life goals.

You can make an appointment to see your advisor through email. Their email address is listed below and the reception office is located in Southeastern Hall, Room 113.

During their first semester, students meet with their CSE Advisor to: (1) discuss their academic and career goals, (2) create a study plan to help them achieve their goals, (3) explore career possibilities as appropriate, and (4) complete course advising for the following semester.

 

Click here: Helpful Links, to explore various links that will help you reach your academic goals.

 

Freshmen students are assigned to advisors by their Academic College and major.

 

College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences

*Advisee Assignment is by 1st Letter of Last Name

Advisor

Advisee Assignment (by Major)

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Brad Bergeron, Senior Advisor

Psychology 
Sociology 
Criminal Justice

(985)
549-3110

110

bbergeron@selu.edu

Wayne Aymond

English, English Education,
History,Political Science,
Social Studies Education,
Music, Music Education

(985)
549-3253

120

Wayne.Aymond@selu.edu

Heidi Scheuermann

Art, Art Education, Communication,
Speech Education,
Spanish, Spanish Education

 (985)
549-5923

 128

heidi.scheuermann@selu.edu

Terry Fitzpatrick,

Senior Advisor

General Studies *A- L

(985)
549-2252
126 terry.fitzpatrick@selu.edu

Linda Lentz

General Studies *M - Z

(985)
549-2523
129 linda.lentz@selu.edu

 

College of Business

*Advisee Assignment is by 1st Letter of Last Name

Advisor

Advisee Assignment

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Deborah Lowry,
Senior Advisor

Business Administration,  Management

(985)
549-3249

102

Deborah.Lowry@selu.edu

Blanche

Guillot-Cloy

Finance, Marketing,
Supply Chain Mgmt
 (985)
549-3246

118

 Blanche.Guillot@selu.edu
 Wayne Aymond Accounting (985)
549-3253
 120  Wayne.Aymond@selu.edu

 

College of Education

Advisor

Advisee Assignment

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Blanche

Guillot-Cloy

ALL Education majors:
ECED Pre K - 3, ELED 1-5,
MSED 4-8, SEME

(985)
549-3246

118

Blanche.Guillot@selu.edu

 

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

*Advisee Assignment is by 1st Letter of Last Name

Advisor

 

Athletic Training,

Communication Sciences & Disorders,

Family and Consumer Sciences,
Health Education & Promotion,

Health & Physical Education,

Health Studies,
Kinesiology,

Nursing,

and
Sport Management

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Kerri Ouber,Senior Advisor

*A - C

(985) 549-5978

107

Kerri.Ouber@selu.edu

Shallene Joseph

*D - J

(985)
549-3795

105

Shallene.Joseph@selu.edu

Christin Dillon

*K - Ri

 (985)
549-5497

101

 Christin.Dillon@selu.edu

Casey LeBlanc Morgan

*Ro - Z

(985)
549-5662

103

Casey.Leblanc@selu.edu

Kerri Ouber,

Senior Advisor

 

All Social Work (985) 549-5978

107

Kerri.Ouber@selu.edu

 

College of Science and Technology

*Advisee Assignment is by 1st Letter of Last Name

Advisor

Advisee Assignment

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Mindy Notariano,
Senior Advisor



Chemistry,
Engineering Technology *A-J,
Mathematics, Physics (& Pre-Engineering)

(985)
549-3789

123

 

Mindy.Notariano@selu.edu

Mike Nettles

Computer Science & ITEC,
Engineering Technology *K-Z
Industrial Technology,
Occupational Safety Health, & Environment

(985)
549-3786

104

Michael.Nettles@selu.edu

Nonita Valverde

Biology

(985)
549-3038

131

Nonita.Valverde@selu.edu

 

CSE for Undecided Majors

*Advisee Assignment is by 1st Letter of Last Name

Advisor

Advisee Assignment

Phone

Office

(SEH)

E-Mail

Terry Fitzpatrick,

Senior Advisor

*A - L

(985)
549-2252

126

Terry.Fitzpatrick@selu.edu

Linda Lentz

*M - Z

(985)
549-2523

129

Linda.Lentz@selu.edu

 

Helpful Links:

 

 

WARNING:
Although, all students should study more than the bare minimum (4 days/week and 4 hours/week) for each 3 hour subject, students in a science related major will need to start at the far end of the study formula. Those students should always study at least 6 days a week for each subject and at least an hour per day.



CONTACT USCAMPUS MAPDIRECTORIES |  GIVING  | MOODLELEONETWEBMAIL