News Release

Delta Tau Delta fraternity named "Chapter of Excellence"

Contact: Christina Chapple


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

Epsilon Phi chapter of Delta Tau Delta fratenity

Caption ...

AWARD-WINNING DELTS -- Members of Southeastern Louisiana University’s Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta International Fraternity who earned top honors at the Southern Division Leadership Conference are, from left, front, Greg Gaiennie, Matt Perrin, Matt Taylor, Trevor Simpson, Justin Poche`, Joe Vandigo, Nick Cavaretta, J.T. Erwin, Chris Barcelona; back, Greg Vick, Josh Thibodeaux, Andrew Ross, Reuben Washington, R .J. Root, Brady Watts, Derek Roth, Jeremy Barrios, Rudy Koppenol.

     HAMMOND – The Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta International Fraternity at Southeastern Louisiana University has again earned top honors at the Southern Division Leadership Conference in February. 

     Epsilon Phi was one of two chapters in the Southern Division to receive the “Chapter of Excellence” award.  

     “We are very excited to be recognized for our continued success,” said Delta Tau Delta President Justin Poche` of Metairie. “This is one of the highest awards a chapter of Delta Tau Delta can receive and we are extremely honored to be recognized as a leader in the fraternity.”

     Epsilon Phi was chosen as the chapter with the most “Outstanding Brotherhood” for the second consecutive year. “Our national fraternity, in announcing the recipient, noted how very rare and difficult it is for a chapter to win this award two years in a row,” Poche said. 

     The chapter was also honored for exceeding recruitment goals, excellent consultant hospitality, and exceeding Southeastern’s all male and all fraternity grade point average.  The Southeastern Epsilon Phi chapter currently maintains an overall grade point average of 2.93.

     Poche` was also recognized for his work as the president of the Southeastern Interfraternal Council. 

     Founded in 1858, Delta Tau Delta currently has 116 chapters and colonies across the United States, divided into five divisions. The Southern Division is composed of 25 chapters.

     Members of Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta include Jeremy Barrios, Algiers; Cody Husser, Amite; Shane Firmin, Andrew Ross, Baton Rouge; Reuben Washington, Bogalusa; Corey Scott, Covington; Brady Watts, Denham Springs; Trevor Simpson, Geismar; Christopher Talamantes, Gonzales; Marc Vedros, Gretna; Morgan McGhee, Hammond; Robert J. Root, Derek Roth, Kenner; Rudy Koppenol, Justin Landry, Madisonville; Greg Gaiennie, Fletcher Seymour, Mandeville; Christopher Barcelona, Brandon Frank, Matthew Perrin, Josh Thibodeaux, Marrero; John T. Erwin, Justin Poche`, Metairie; Greg Vick, Pearl River; Joe Vandigo, Ponchatoula; Jeffery Miller, Slidell; Matthew Taylor, Terrytown; and Nick Cavaretta, Kapolei, Hawaii.

More News...