News Release

Southeastern's Delta Tau Delta receives national honor

Contact: Christina Chapple


Members of Delta Tau Delta

Caption …

SOUTHEASTERN DELTS HONORED -- Members of the Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity are pictured at their Division Conference in Spartanburg, S.C. From left, front row, are Nick Cavaretta and International President Rock Clinton; second row, Greg Vick, Derek Roth, Matt Taylor, Brandon Frank, and Rob Jackson; third row, Marc Vedros, Scott Eiswirth, Chris Barcelona, Trey Scott, and Ryan Holmes; fourth row, David Cavell, Bryan Kron,  JT Erwin, David Ruiz, and Fletcher Seymour; fifth row, Brady Watts, Matt Perrin, Joe Kennedy, Andrew Ross, Trevor Simpson and Shane Firmin.

HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University’s Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity was honored with the prestigious Court of Honor Award at the Southern Division Leadership Conference recently held Feb. 21-24 in Spartanburg, S.C.

     Based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni relations, the award is given annually to the top 20 Delta Tau Delta chapters across the nation. 

     The organization also was acknowledged as a Chapter of Excellence, the highest regional honor that a group can receive.

     “It took many years of hard work to build the chapter to where we are now,” said Chapter President Nick Cavaretta Kapolei, Hawaii. “All of that work, including that accomplished over the past year, has finally paid off.”

     At the annual conference, Southeastern’s chapter was also recognized for its participation in Adopt-a-School, as well as its excellence in academics. Southeastern’s chapter placed first in all chapters for “Campus Involvement” and, for the third year in a row, was rewarded for the division’s “Most Outstanding Brotherhood.”

     Justin Poche’ of Metairie was named the Most Outstanding Chapter President in the division for 2007. 

     “It was a great year for our chapter” said Poche’, “but we must recognize the dedication of the many who have gone before us.  We share these awards with the many strong alumni of Epsilon Phi who helped us to get to this point.”

     The regional recognition capped off an impressive year for the Epsilon Phi chapter. In 2007, members’ cumulative grade point average increased to an impressive 2.85, the highest among Southeastern fraternities. Fall community service hours totaled nearly 1,500, including volunteerism at the chapter’s adopted school Natalbany Elementary, Habitat for Humanity, Relay for Life, and numerous other charitable causes. 

     In the area of campus service, several chapter members hold positions in the Student Government Association, including President Chris Barcelona of Marrero, and four members were selected to serve as university orientation leaders for 2008.

     In 2007, four Southeastern Delta Tau Delta members graduated from the prestigious Delt Leadership Academy, which selects fewer than 100 members from nearly 6,000 undergraduates from across the nation. Two members will attend the academy this year.

     The Epsilon Phi Chapter has included 575 members since its founding at Southeastern in 1969. Current members are Shane Firm, Bryan Kron and Andrew Ross, Baton Rouge;  David Ruiz, Chalmette; Aaron Gutekunst, Covington; Brady Watts, Denham Springs; Trevor Simpson, Geismar; Marc Vedros, Gretna; Derek Roth, Kenner; Charles Bruns and Joseph Kennedy, Lacombe; Rudy Koppenol, Madisonville; Greg Gaiennie and Fletcher Seymour, Mandeville;

     Also, Christopher Barcelona, Brandon Frank and Matthew Perrin, Marrero; John Erwin, Metairie; Scott Eiswirth, New Orleans; Stephen Fulton and Greg Vick, Pearl River; Hunter Holden, St. Francisville; Trey Scott, Talisheek; Matthew Taylor, Terrytown; David Cavell, Thibodaux; Nick Cavaretta, Kapolei, Hawaii; Rob Jackson, Gloston, Miss.; Ryan Holmes, Edgerton, Wis.; and Matthew Hjerstedt, Lake Mills, Wis.

     For more information on Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta visit and for more information on Delta Tau Delta International Fraternity visit

More News...