News Release

Presidential search committee to meet Jan. 30

Contact: Christina Chapple


     HAMMOND -- The committee tasked with naming a new president of Southeastern Louisiana University will meet on the Hammond campus Friday, Jan. 30.

     The 1:15 p.m. meeting at the Southeastern Alumni Center, 500 W. University Ave., is open to the public.

     The 10-member search committee will review applications from 15 candidates, go over the timeline, and discuss next steps including the selection of candidates for public interviews. Information on each applicant is available at

     The committee will also receive a report by search consultant Greenwood/Asher and Associates. The UL System's goal is to name a new president by mid-spring.

     Voting members of the 10-member committee include Southeastern Faculty Senate Representative Joseph Burns and UL System Board Members Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Elsie Burkhalter of Slidell, Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Wayne Parker of Ruston, Winfred Sibille of Sunset, and Student Board Member Morgan Verrette of Lake Charles.

     Serving in a non-voting, advisory capacity are Southeastern Student Government Association President Zealon Solomon and community representative Daryl Ferrara, president of the Hammond Chamber of Commerce. UL System President Randy Moffett serves as the non-voting chair.

     For more information about the Southeastern search, including the advertisement placed in local and national publications and an independent review of the Southeastern campus, visit the UL System's website at and click on the Southeastern search icon.

More News...