News Release

St. Tammany alumni host reception for President Crain

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt


     HAMMONDThe Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association St. Tammany Chapter is hosting a reception April 9 in honor of John L. Crain, who was recently named the university’s 14th president. The event will take place in Pearl River at the home of Sen. A.G. and Linda Crowe, 201 Crowe’s Landing, from 5 to 7 p.m.

     “We encourage everyone in the East St. Tammany area to come out and meet Dr. Crain,” said Kathy Pittman, alumni association director.

     Crain, a Franklinton native, is a 22-year veteran of the university. He served as interim president from July 2008 until his appointment as president in February, and previously was provost and vice president of academic affairs for six years. He is also a tenured faculty member and served as Faculty Senate president and head of the Department of Accounting.

     Honorary hosts include Sen. A.G. and Linda Crowe, Jim and Diane Baham, Warren and Kathy Berault, Mark Baham, Martin Bruno, UL System Board Chair Elsie Burkhalter, Rep. Greg Cromer, JoAnn Gomez, Jonathan Gomez, Kathy Jones, Billy Ladner, Tammy Rudesill, Rep. John and Ellie Schroder, and St. Tammany Parish Public Schools Superintendent Gayle Sloan.

     For more information, call the Alumni Association at 985-549-2150 or 1-800-SLU-ALUM.

More News...