News Release

Pinnacle of Pride awards presented to students, organizations

Contact: Rene Abadie


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

President John L. Crain, Brittany Bacques, Jared Eusea, Matt Taylor, Tim Mitchell, Ally O’Keefe, Julie Perise

Caption ...

PINNACLE OF PRIDE AWARDS PRESENTED – Southeastern Louisiana University recognized several students and student organizations recently with the President’s Pinnacle of Pride Award for national achievements and the Southeastern Alumni Association’s Friendship Oak Award for contributions made on behalf of the university. From left are President John L. Crain; Brittany Bacques, president of Theta Phi Alpha Sorority; Jared Eusea, president of Gamma Beta Phi academic honor society; Matt Taylor, vice president of Delta Tau Delta fraternity; Tim Mitchell, cartoonist for the “Lion’s Roar;” Ally O’Keefe, editor in chief of “Le Souvenir” yearbook; and Julie Perise, assistant director, Southeastern Alumni Association.

            HAMMOND – Three Southeastern Louisiana University student organizations and two individual students were honored Thursday (May 7) with the President’s Pinnacle of Pride Award for achieving national recognition.

            The recipients were also presented the Southeastern Alumni Association’s Friendship Oak Award, which recognizes achievements and contributions made on behalf of the university.

            At a special ceremony at the University Residence, President John L. Crain presented the award to Delta Tau Delta Fraternity, Gamma Beta Phi academic honor society, Theta Phi Alpha Sorority, “Le Souvenir” yearbook editor Allyson O’Keef of New Orleans, and “Lion’s Roar” cartoonist Tim Mitchell of Abita Springs. Julie Perise, assistant director of the Alumni Association, presented the Friendship Oak awards.

            “Southeastern is honored to have such outstanding student leaders representing us at a national level,” Crain said. “Their achievements reflect a commitment to excellence that we try to instill in all of our students and organizations.”

            The Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta was recognized for receiving the Hugh Shields Award, the highest award given annually to the top 10 chapters nationally. The fraternity also received the Chapter of Excellence Award, which is the highest regional honor a chapter can earn.

            Gamma Beta Phi received the Distinguished Chapter Award, the highest honor given by the national organization. The organization hosted the 2008 national convention, where member Jared Eusea of Paradis received the WR “Russ” McCauley Scholarship, and Anthony Rutledge of Franklinton was honored with the Dr. Aaron W. Todd Certificate of Merit. Gamma Beta Phi advisors Terry Passman and Jackie Dale Thomas were each recognized for their 25 years of service to the organization.

            Beta Epsilon Chapter of Theta Phi Alpha sorority was recognized for earning the Circle of Excellence Award at the sorority’s 47th national convention last July. The highest award that can be presented to a chapter, the award encompasses the activities of a chapter for 2006 – 2008. The chapter was also acknowledged with the Helen Ryan Quinlan Community Service Award.

            O’Keefe, editor of the 2008 “Le Souvenir” yearbook, received a first place award for editing presented by the American Scholastic Press Association. Currently working on a second bachelor’s degree in visual arts, O’Keefe has garnered a number of other national awards from the association, “Photographers Forum” magazine and the Louisiana Press Association.

            Mitchell received first place for editorial cartooning by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. A cartoonist for the “Lion’s Roar” since joining the staff of Student Publications in 2004, his cartoons appear in the newspaper nearly every week. His illustrations and caricatures have also been published in the “Le Souvenir” and “Inside Northside” magazine. 

More News...