News Release

General Studies honors students

Southeastern General Studies students honored

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University’s Division of General Studies recognized Tim O’Leary of Covington and Jeffrey Turner of Houston, with the Dean’s Award, the top honor given at its honors convocation, held on campus April 27.
     Turner was the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence in the general studies bachelor’s degree program, while O’Leary earned the honor for the associate degree program.
     Also at the annual recognition ceremony, the division’s Academic Awards for Excellence were presented to Lacy Anthony of Abita Springs (Undergraduate Sophomore Award), Rita Scott of Loranger (Undergraduate Junior Award), and Renee Sandifer of Franklinton (Undergraduate Senior Award).
     Brooke Jones of Hammond received the Associate in General Studies Outstanding Graduate honor, while Thomas Ferris of Prairieville received the Bachelor of General Studies Outstanding Graduate award. Lindsey Boles of Greenwell Springs received the division’s Award for Excellence in Service.
     The division also recognized students inducted into Southeastern’s own honor society, the 13 Club, the Phi Kappa Phi honor society and academic honor list students.

Southeastern Louisiana University Provost Tammy Bourg, far left, back row, and Barbara Allen, Dean of the Division of General Studies, far right, back row, congratulate award recipients at the General Studies’ annual honors convocation on April 27. Honorees include, from right, seated, Lindsey Boles, Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service; Rita Scott, Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence as a Junior; and Lacy Anthony, Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence as a Sophomore. Back row, from left, Bourg,  Brooke Jones, Outstanding Graduate in the Associate Degree program; Thomas Ferris, Outstanding Graduate in the Bachelor Degree program; Jeffrey Turner, Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence in the Bachelor Degree program; Renee Sandifer, Academic Excellence Undergraduate Senior Award; and Allen.

More News...