News Release

1)St. Tammany Science Fair winners2)Tangipahoa Parish Science Fair winners

St. Paul's student wins Region 8 Science Fair

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

1) ST. TAMMANY PARISH SCIENCE FAIR WINNERS ANNOUNCED: St. Tammany Parish winners recognized at the 2011 Region 8 Science Fair held at Southeastern Louisiana University were, front row, left to right: Leah Bell, Macey Shirah, Amali Wijesekera, Alexandra Barron, and Stephen Smith; back row, from left: John Villarubia, Patrick Richards, Nicholas Foster, Jacques Guillot, Brad Petras, Aiden Dedeaux, Philip James, Warner King, and Matthew Myrtue.

2) TANGIPAHOA PARISH SCIENCE FAIR WINNERS ANNOUNCED: Tangipahoa Parish winners recognized at the 2011 Region 8 Science Fair held at Southeastern Louisiana University were Emily Owens, left, and Shelby Patti, both of Holy Ghost Catholic School.

     HAMMOND – John Villarrubia of St. Paul’s School in Covington was the overall winner of the 2011 Region 8 Science Fair at Southeastern Louisiana University March 17 and 18. His winning project, “Going Against the Grain: Cytogenetic Analysis” received first place honors in the senior division medicine and health sciences category. 
     Amali Wijesekera of Boyet Jr. High was the overall winner of the junior division. Her project, “Does Storage Temperature Affect Battery Life?” placed first in the engineering category.
     Along with first, second and third place regional winners, Villarrubia and Wijesekera will advance to the state science fair at Louisiana State University.
     For the third consecutive year, the Region 8 Science Fair was sponsored by Valero St. Charles Refinery. The company sponsors the fair as a way of supporting educational activities for children. 
     Additional Science Fair winners, listed by division and school, were:

CHRIST EPISCOPAL SCHOOL – Clayton Williams, second, chemistry; Ingrid Sjunnesen, honorable mention, chemistry; Leah Bell, first, physics and astronomy; Carter Friend, third, physics and astronomy; and Sarah Robinson, honorable mention, physics and astronomy.

HERITAGE SCHOOL – Warner King, first, earth and planetary science.

ST. PAUL’S SCHOOL – Patrick Richards, first, chemistry; Michael Sitarz, second, earth and planetary science; Alexander Sibley, third, earth and planetary science; Alack Patel, second, engineering; John Villarrubia, first, medicine and health sciences; and Ryan Harlan, second, microbiology.

ST. SCHOLASTICA ACADEMY – Macey Shirah, first, behavioral and social science; Emily Kuebel and Carley Boyce, second, medicine and health sciences; Elaina Cole, honorable mention, microbiology.


BOYET JUNIOR HIGH – Brad Petras, first, animal science; Noah Roheim, second, animal science; Alexandra Barron, first, environmental sciences; Mallory and Madison Doody, honorable mention, mircobiology.

CHRIST EPISCOPAL SCHOOL – Felix Rabito, third, chemistry; Kelley Wieseneck, second, physics and astronomy; and Max Cook, second, plant sciences.

CLEARWOOD JUNIOR HIGH – Lexy Pearson, honorable mention, medicine and health sciences.

CREEKSIDE JUNIOR HIGH – Rachel Valle, third, animal science; Traven Handley, second, environmental sciences and Holly Hallal, third, plant sciences.

FIFTH WARD JUNIOR HIGH – Will Busby, second, engineering.

FONTAINEBLEAU JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL – Matthew Myrtue, first, computer science; Braiden Beam, second, energy and transportation; Gabrielle Randazzo, honorable mention, environmental sciences; Adam Ohlmeyer, first, microbiology; Brooks Ballard, honorable mention, plant sciences.

HOLY GHOST CATHOLIC SCHOOL – Justin Jones, third, mathematical sciences; Shelby Patti and Emily Owens, first, medicine and health sciences; Alexis Theriot, third, medicine and health sciences; Claire Traylor, third, physics and astronomy; and Madeline Labbe’, honorable mention, physics and astronomy.

LITTLE OAK MIDDLE SCHOOL – Nicholas Foster, first, chemistry; and Steven Smith, first, plant sciences.

MANDEVILLE JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL – Aiden Dedeaux, first, behavioral and social science; Megan Keen, honorable mention, biochemistry; Philip James, first, cellular and molecular biology; Ryan Oppenheim, second, chemistry; Council Smith, honorable mention, chemistry; Mason Zimmer, second, earth and planetary science; Ben Guilbeau, honorable mention, engineering; and Shalin Bhatt, second, medicine and health sciences.

MARY QUEEN OF PEACE – Luke St. Germain, third, microbiology; and Jacques Guillot, first, physics and astronomy.

ST. JOSEPH CATHOLIC SCHOOL – Emily Hines, honorable mention, animal science.

ST. PAUL’S SCHOOL – Benjamin Dantin, third, engineering; and Lucas Waldron, third, environmental sciences.

ST. PETER CATHOLIC SCHOOL – Hannah Noel, honorable mention, behavioral and social science. 

SOUTHEASTERN LABORATORY SCHOOL – Pete Bentivegna and Griffin Guzan, second, behavioral and social sciences; Samantha Messina and Emma Griffith, third, behavioral and social science; and Lucas Coleman and Harrison Swank, second, microbiology.

More News...