Southeastern Fraternity named a top ten chapter

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt
Date: April 18, 2012


     HAMMOND – For the fourth year in a row, Southeastern Louisiana University's Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta has been awarded the Hugh Shields Flag, a designation given to the top 10 chapters in the national fraternity.

     The award is based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni relations.

     Tyler Rogers, chapter president, said Epsilon Phi was also recognized for its participation in Adopt-a-School, the national philanthropy of the fraternity.

     "The 2011 year was a great one for Epsilon Phi Chapter," said Rogers. "Among our accomplishments, the biggest was winning our fourth straight Hugh Shields Flag for chapter excellence and our 14th overall. We are very proud of all that we accomplished last year, and we have set new goals for the coming year to achieve even greater success in 2012."

     In addition to its Adopt-A-School project work with Natalbany Elementary, the chapter participated in a number of other community service activities, including the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life, Adopt-a-Street, and Habitat for Humanity. The chapter also performed campus service work at the Southeastern Laboratory School and at Chefs Evening, the university's annual fund raising event.

     In the area of academics, the chapter's cumulative 2.837 GPA placed the members first among Southeastern fraternities.

     Members of Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta include Landon Andries and Danny Tanner, Addis; David Foster, Jayse Morgan and Logan Torrance, Albany; John Dolese, Ama; Lance Hardman, Alexandria; Ian Doran, John Roberts, Jr, Tyler Rogers, and Christopher Simoneaux, Baton Rouge; Ben Black and Kegan Hayes, Central; Patrick Amie and Johnny Braud, Covington; Austin Copeland and Brandon Griffin, Folsom; Hunter Carter, Greensburg; Jeremy Stoufflet, Harvey; Jorge Franco, Kenner; Kevin LeJeune, Lakeland; Ivy Gonzales, Larose; Forrest Duplantier, Madisonville; Grant Schoultz, Mandeville; Elliot Barcelona, Bryce Barras and Blake Thomas, Marrero; Blake Borgstede and Ryan Pattison, Metairie; Hunter Robinson, Luling; Sean Payton, New Orleans; Luke Marino, Pineville; Jeremy Troulliet and Jacob Williams, Ponchatoula; Michael Scallan and Trevor Vampran, Prairieville; Tim Causey, Evan Fiore, Donovan Fredericks, Scott Harpster, Logan Kadinger, Jordan Leggett, Carson Songy, Branden Summers and Malcolm Young Hernandez, Slidell; Josh Price, Watson; Matthew Hein, Garden Grove, Calif.; Mujahed Ahmad, Ann Arbor, Mi. ; Rob Jackson, Glouster, Miss.; David Gutekunst, Houston, Tex.; Jacob Bellairs, Lexington, Va.; and Andy Zidaru, Bucharest, Romania.

     New members include Blaine McGowan, Baton Rouge; Blake Matherne, Hammond; Marshall Paris, Lake Charles; Cory Prevost, Loranger; Brandon McGhee and Brandon Sundquist, Metairie; Dante Bidwell, New Orleans; Kaleb Muse, Ponchatoula; and Ross Tomko, Walker.

     Gene Pregeant is the chapter advisor. Brad Bergeron, Hans Oberschmidt, Gary Prescott, and Anthony Ranatza are assistant advisors.


More News...