Region 8 Science Fair winners announced

Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

Contact: Rene Abadie


1) Science Fair winners from Tangipahoa Parish2) Science Fair winners from St. Tammany Parish

1) TANGIPAHOA PARISH SCIENCE FAIR WINNERS First place winners from Tangipahoa Parish in the Region 8 Science Fair held at Southeastern Louisiana University were Harrison Swank, left, and Lucas Coleman. Both are students at the SLU Lab School.

2) ST. TAMMANY PARISH SCIENCE FAIR WINNERS First place winners from St. Tammany Parish in the Region 8 Science Fair held at Southeastern Louisiana University were recognized following the event. Pictured are, front row, from left: Remie Arena, Kristen Boese, Brandi Mowen, Caitlyn Hoerner, Daniel Bischoff, Shalin Bhatt, William Kelly, and Cleco representatives Patricia Ferrara and Jan Armand; back row, from left: Michael Sitarz, Robert Bayer, Abigail Jenkins, Austin Smiley, Chase Domingue, and Thomas Ruli.

     HAMMOND Thomas Ruli, a student at St. Paul’s School in Covington, was the overall winner in the Senior Division of the 2012 Region 8 Science Fair, while William Ian Kelly of   St. Tammany Junior High in Slidell took the top spot in the Junior Division.
     The fair was held at Southeastern Louisiana University on Friday (March 9). Along with first and second place regional winners, Ruli and Kelly will advance to the state science fair to be held at LSU later this year.
     Ruli won for his exhibit “Natural Antibiotics vs. Man Made Antibiotics” in the Medicine and Health Sciences Category, and Kelly was recognized for his display “Which Acoustical Material Absorbs the Most Sound” in the Engineering Category.
     Corporate sponsorship of the fair was provided by Valero St. Charles Refinery and Cleco Corp.
     Additional Science Fair winners by division and school were:
     CHRIST EPISCOPAL SCHOOL, COVINGTON Leah Bell, first, physics and astronomy; Clayton Williams, first, Ingrid Sjunnesen, third, and Avery Owings, honorable mention, all in chemistry.
     DENHAM SPRINGS HIGH SCHOOL Emma Swarner, second, environmental sciences.
     HERITAGE SCHOOL, WALKER -- Warner King, second, chemistry.
     POPE JOHN PAUL II HIGH SCHOOL, SLIDELL Matthew Tonglet, first, animal science; Hope Brusstar, third, engineering; Jena Cartaginese and Heidi Dunne, second, and Amanda Stark, honorable mention, medicine and health sciences; Dominque Delaney, first; and Hannah Donnell and Molley Edwards, second, microbiology; Will Arata, second, and Justin Gandy, third, both in physics and astronomy.
     ST. PAUL’S SCHOOL, COVINGTON Michael Sitarz, first, Michael Brown, third, and Benjamin Dantin, honorable mention, all in energy and transportation; Roberty Bayer, first, and Brennan Knepper, third, both in environmental sciences; and Peter Yager, third, medicine and health sciences.
     ST. SCHOLASTICA ACADEMY, COVINGTON Caitlyn Hoerner, first, engineering; and Shelby Bryan, second, behavioral and social science.

     ANNUNCIATION CATHOLIC SCHOOL, BOGALUSA Courtney Roberson, honorable mention, animal science.
BOWLING GREEN SCHOOL, FRANKLINTON Daniel Bischoff, first, energy and transportation.
     BOYET JUNIOR HIGH, SLIDELL Nicholas Foster, second, microbiology; Michael Stokes, second, and Alex Barron, third, physics and astronomy; and Noah Roheim, third, animal science.
     CALVARY BAPTIST SCHOOL, SLIDELL Jade Parfait, third, energy and transportation; and Ivy Ferraro, third, plant sciences.
     CHAMP COOPER SCHOOL, PONCHATOULA Kayla Camardi, honorable mention, environmental sciences.
     FIFTH WARD JUNIOR HIGH, BUSH Abigail Jenkins and Brandi Mowen, first, animal science; and Presley Seal, third, medicine and health sciences.
     FONTAINEBLEAU JUNIOR HIGH , MANDEVILLE Kristen Boese, first, and Mason Hornsby, third, environmental science; Julia Racine, second, plant sciences; Regan Sellers, honorable mention, chemistry; and Adam Ohlmeyer, honorable mention, microbiology.
     LITTLE OAK MIDDLE SCHOOL, SLIDELL Cody Armand, second, animal science; and Paola Colmenares, second, earth and planetary science.
     MANDEVILLE JUNIOR HIGH Shalin Bhatt, first, medicine and health sciences; Emma Knight, second, chemistry; Madison Kerth, third, microbiology; Claire Crosby, third, and Daniel Rockwell, honorable mention, both in engineering; Cameron Ellis, honorable mention, behavioral and social science; Hannah LeBlanc, honorable mention, physics and astronomy; and Nick Mejia, honorable mention, plant sciences.
     MARY QUEEN OF PEACE, MANDEVILLE Leonora Davis, second, energy and transportation; and Reagan Hightower, honorable mention, medicine and health sciences.
     NORTHLAKE CHRISTIAN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, COVINGTON Zac Ballard, second, medicine and health sciences; Catherine Craighead, third, behavioral and social science; and Regan Odenwald, third, chemistry.
     SLU LAB SCHOOL, HAMMOND Harrison Swank, first, chemistry; and Lucas Coleman, first physics and astronomy.
     ST PAUL’S SCHOOL, COVINGTON Chase Domingue, first, plant sciences; Luke Avenel, second, environmental sciences; Patrick Frederick and Jacques Guillot, second, behavioral and social science.
     ST. PETER CATHOLIC SCHOOL, COVINGTON Olivery Sibley, second, engineering.
     ST. SCHOLASTICA ACADEMY, COVINGTON Remie Arena, first, earth and planetary science; and Annie Schwartz, honorable mention, energy and transportation.
     ST. TAMMANY JUNIOR HIGH, SLIDELL Austin Smiley, first, behavioral and social science; and Bernel Davis, third, earth and planetary science.

More News...