Southeastern announces 2012 Homecoming Court and Beau Court

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt
Date: October 2, 2012

1)Homecoming Queen Court 20122)Homecoming Beau Court 2012


2012 SOUTHEASTERN HOMECOMING COURT – Seven Southeastern Louisiana University students have been chosen as members of the 2012 Homecoming court and will reign over Homecoming festivities, Oct. 20-28. Chosen as members of the queen's court were, from left, front, Abbey Smith, Shanel Wolf, and Shawndreka Gatlin; back, from left, Kaylee George, Jessica LeBlanc, Kristen Phelps, and Kenneesha Johnson.

2012 SOUTHEASTERN HOMECOMING BEAU COURT -- Members of Southeastern Louisiana University's 2012 Homecoming beau court are, from left, front, Devonte' Bryant, Ashish Acharya, and Joshua Allen; back, from left, Brandon Nettles, Hunter Robinson, and Jeremy Lloyd. Not pictured is Winfred Hills, Jr.


     HAMMOND –Fourteen Southeastern Louisiana University students have been chosen as members of the 2012 Homecoming queen and beau courts. The seven women and seven men will reign over Homecoming festivities Oct. 20- 28.

     Chosen as members of the queen court were seniors Shawndreka Gatlin and Jessica LeBlanc, New Orleans; Kenneesha Johnson, Houma; Kristen Phelps, Summit, Miss.; and Shanel Wolf, Baton Rouge; junior Abbey Smith, Lafayette; and sophomore Kaylee George, High Island, Tex.

     Members of the beau court are seniors Ashish Acharya, Kathmandu, Nepal; Winfred Hills, Jr., Kenner; Jeremy Lloyd, Baton Rouge; and Hunter Robinson, Luling; and juniors Joshua Allen, New Orleans; Devonte' Bryant, Amite; and Brandon Nettles, Baton Rouge.

     The 2012 queen and beau, the top junior or senior vote-getters in the recent online campus election, will be announced at halftime of the Homecoming football game when the Lions take on Central Arkansas on Homecoming Day, Oct. 27, at 7 p.m. in Strawberry Stadium.

     The court also will participate in Homecoming festivities such as Gumbo Ya Ya on Oct. 24, the bonfire and pep rally on Oct. 25, and the 3:30 p.m. Homecoming Day parade.

     Gatlin, a fashion merchandising major, is president of the Southeastern Chapter of NAACP. She is a member of the Student Government Association (SGA), Gamma Beta Phi, and Sigma Alpha Lambda. She is on the President's List, received the Green "S" Award, and was Role Model of the Year in 2012.

     George majors in early childhood education. She is a member of Alpha Omicron Pi Sorority, where she serves as activities chair. She is a two-year member of the Southeastern cheerleading squad, which won second place in the nation at college cheerleading nationals. She is also on the Dean's List.

     Johnson, a psychology major, is a member of NAACP, PEEPS, and From Start to Finish. She is involved in campus life and has also been recognized on the President's List, two goals she set for herself as a freshman.

     LeBlanc, a communication major, is a member of Sigma Alpha Lambda, Alpha Psi Omega, the Press Club, the French Club, and the Black Student Union. She was named "Best College News Anchor in the South" at the Southeast Journalism Conference and named one of the four top student TV news reporters in the nation by College Broadcasters, Inc. She was nominated for a student Emmy in 2011 for a news story aired on the Southeastern Channel's "Northshore News."

     Phelps, an English major, is a member of Alpha Omicron Pi, where she serves as vice president of education and is the sweetheart. She is also a member of Alpha Tau Eta, Up Til Done, and the Dream Team 2011. She has been on the President's List for five semesters, was a member of the Theta Xi Sweetheart Court her freshman year, and a member of Sigma Tau Gamma's White Rose Court her sophomore year. She also received the Alpha Omicron Pi Academic Award for a 3.8 grade point average or higher.

     Smith is a kinesiology major and a member of Alpha Omicron Pi, where she has served as the philanthropic chairman and recording secretary. She has also served as a DSA Leadership Ambassador, a Southeastern Group X Fitness instructor, a Panhellenic Gamma Chi, and an SGA Freshman Senator. She was the Southeastern Freshman Woman of the Year, was Alpha Omicron Pi's New Member of the Year, and received the Southeastern Green "S" Award.

     Wolf is a business management major. She is a member of Omega Phi Alpha and Gamma Beta Phi. She has been on the President's List and is graduating from Southeastern within three and a half years, a personal goal she set for herself.

     Acharya is an accounting major. He is a member of Beta Alpha Psi and Kappa Sigma. He was named the Most Outstanding International Student of the Year in 2011, Outstanding Student Programmer by the Association for the Promotion of Campus Activities, and a member of Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

     Hills is majoring in mathematics and is a member of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, where he was elected beau and served as president. He is a member of the Black Student Union and involved in Southeastern intramural sports. He is also the recipient of the SGA Freshman Leadership Award.

     Lloyd is a vocal performance major. He is a member of NAACP, God's Chosen Gospel Choir, Kappa Nu Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha, Sigma Alpha Pi National Honor Society and Collegiate 100. He has been on both the President's and Dean's lists, received the Green "S" Award and was the winner of Nu Delta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sunday's Best. He also finished in the top three of the Southeastern Star competition and received the Beacon of Light of Hammond Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship.

     Robinson is an electronic media major. He is president of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity, co-director of financial affairs for SGA, vice president of College Republicans, and a member of Order of Omega. He was nominated for two regional Emmys at the Southeastern Channel, is a recipient of the Green "S" Award, and was named 2011 New Member of the Year for Delta Tau Delta.

     Allen, a communication major, is president and founder of Collegiate 100 Black Men of Southeastern. He is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, NAACP, was a 2011 Orientation Leader, and Student Life Chairman of SGA. He has also been named to the Dean's List and is considered one of Southeastern's Positive Male Role Models.

     Bryant is a marketing major. He is a member of Theta Chi Fraternity, Best Buddies and Lions for the Lamb. He is also on the President's List.

     Nettles, a communication major, is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, a 2012 Orientation Leader, and a mentor for Project Pull.

     For additional information about Southeastern Homecoming events, contact the Alumni Association at (985) 549-2150 or 1-800-SLU-ALUM or visit

More News...