Southeastern's Delta Tau Delta Chapter earns national ranking

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt
Date: April 17, 2013


     HAMMOND – For the fifth consecutive year, the Southeastern Louisiana University Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta is the recipient of the prestigious Hugh Shields Award, presented to the top chapters in the country.
     The award is given annually to the top 10 chapters of Delta Tau Delta across the nation, said Chapter Advisor Gene Pregeant. The award is based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni relations.
     "This is a direct representation of the men that we have in our organization – men who are committed to Delta Tau Delta and committed to Southeastern and our community," said Jeremy Troulliet of Ponchatoula, chapter president. "Our motto is 'Committed to Lives of Excellence' and our members try to live up to that every day."
     "The Hugh Shields recognition this year was particularly meaningful considering the chapter has received the award five times and is now allowed to retire the flag for permanent residence in their house," Pregeant said. "This is the third flag the Southeastern Chapter has retired in its 44 year history. Only four Delta Tau Delta chapters in the United States have won more than the 15 flags awarded to Southeastern – Iowa State leads with 22 flags followed by the University of Nebraska, Illinois Institute of Technology and Oklahoma State."
    The awards capped another impressive year for the brothers of Epsilon Phi, as their cumulative GPA was 3.074, placing them first among Southeastern fraternities.
     Community service projects for the fraternity during the year included their work for the national philanthropy JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation), Relay for Life and the local Humane Society. Campus service included work at the Southeastern Laboratory School and Chefs Evening, the university's largest fundraiser to enhance academic programming.
     Members of Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta include David Foster and Jayse Morgan, Albany; Lance Hardman, Oakdale; Landon Brown, Blaine McGowan, Joel Roberts, John Roberts Jr., Christopher Simoneaux, and Josh Stickling, Baton Rouge; Barrett Black and Ben Black, Central; Patrick Amie, Covington;  Forrest Friedman and Tyler Mellenthin, Denham Springs;  Blake Matherne and Brennen McAndrew, Hammond; Jeremy Stoufflet, Gretna; Jorge Franco, Kenner;  Marshall Paris, Lake Charles; Kevin LeJeune, Lakeland;  Hunter Robinson, Luling; Chad Mouledous and Blake Thomas, Mandeville; Elliot Barcelona, Marrero; Julian Ellis, Maurepas; Blake Borgstede, Metairie; Dante Bidwell and Sean Payton, New Orleans; Seth Hebert, Nick Nelson and Jeremy Troulliet, Ponchatoula;  Evan Fiore, Quinn Fiore, Scott Harpster, Garrett Hollingsworth, Logan Kadinger, Jordan Leggett, Carson Songy, and Oliver Young Hernandez, Slidell; Ross Tomko, Walker; Matthew Hein, Garden Grove, CA;  Justin Williamson, Waldorf, Md.; and Jacob Bellairs, Lexington, Va. New members include Grayson Jackson, Baton Rouge; Logan Chaplain, Chalmette; and Zach Edwards, Livingston.
     Assistant Advisors for Epsilon Phi Chapter are Brad Bergeron, Hans Oberschmidt, Gary Prescott, and Anthony Ranatza.



More News...