Southeastern student journalists recognized at ACP/CMA Convention

Monday, December 9, 2013
by: Tonya Lowentritt

HAMMOND - Four student journalists at Southeastern Louisiana University were recognized at the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Advisors (ACP/CMA) National Fall Convention held in New Orleans recently.

Yearbook editors Claire Babin and M.J. Dinino, both graphic design majors from Prairieville, were recognized for their work on the 2013 edition of "Le Souvenir," Southeastern's annual yearbook. The pair of students garnered 4th place in the "Yearbook less than 300 pages" category of the "Best in Show" competition.

Chelsee LaMarca, a spring 2013 kinesiology graduate from Ponchatoula who served as the editor of the 2012 yearbook, and Emily Melancon Moser, a spring 2013 special education graduate from Prairieville who served as assistant editor, were recognized with third place honors in "Cover Presentation" of the yearbook. A photo of the cover of the 2012 yearbook was featured in the Best of Collegiate Design 21 publication that was distributed nationally to College Media Association members this fall.

Student advisors Lee Lind and Lorraine Favre attended the conference with four students – senior communication major and the new Le Souvenir editor Chris Martin of Albany; junior communication major and campus life editor for "The Lion's Roar," Jasmine Tate of Franklinton; and reporters John Binder, junior communication major from Slidell, and Nicole Koster of LaPlace, senior communication major. All attendees had a variety of opportunities to attend workshops and training sessions during the five-day convention.

The College Media Association's Best of Collegiate Design showcases the best work produced by student media designers. Student publications from across the country that are members of CMA are eligible to enter into the competition in 23 different categories for design, content, and photography. Publications range from newspapers, magazines, yearbooks, and online publications.

The Associated Collegiate Press is the largest and oldest national membership organization for college student media in the United States. The ACP is a division of the National Scholastic Press Association. It awards the newspaper, magazine, and online National Pacemaker Awards, which are considered the highest honors a student publication can receive.

College Media Advisers (CMA), formerly known as National Council of College Publication Advisers, was established in 1956 and is a United States national association of higher education professionals which exists to promote established standards and practices in college media advising.

More News...

More News...