You Be the Chemist winners named

Contact: Rene AbadieYou Be the Chemist winners
Date: February 28, 2013


     HAMMOND - Five students from Tangipahoa Parish public schools were named the top winners Friday (Feb. 22) in the You Be the Chemist Challenge, sponsored by the Tangipahoa Parish School System, the Southeastern Louisiana University Department of Chemistry and Physics, and Bercen, Inc., a chemical manufacturer based in Denham Springs.
     Pictured are, front row, from left: students Reed Roberts, Southeastern Lab School, fifth place; Corey King, Southeastern Lab School, first; Meah Sims, Sumner Middle School, fourth; Chris Crawford, third, Sumner Middle School; Mallory Matthews, Loranger Middle School, second place; and Tiffany Adkins of Bercen, Inc.; back row, from left: Gerard Blanchard, head of the Southeastern Department of Chemistry and Physics; TPSS Assistant Superintendent Lionel Jackson; chemist Joey Harrell of Bercen; Dan McCarthy, dean of the College of Science and Technology; and Valerie Massie-Boyer, Bercen.
     At the event, held at Southeastern's University Center, science supplies courtesy of the vendor Ward's Natural Science were presented to teachers as door prizes.



More News...