Southeastern students post successes at journalism conference

Contact: Rene Abadie
Date: February 26, 2013


     HAMMOND – At the Southeast Journalism Conference held at Union University in Jackson, Tenn., Feb. 21-23, Southeastern Louisiana University students in broadcast and print journalism and crisis communications claimed several top awards, including first place in the overall onsite competition.
     The onsite competition involved individuals or teams working in 11 different categories within specified time limits to produce a specific product. Southeastern students won or placed in five of the 11 categories to earn their first place overall onsite award.
     The Southeastern Channel, the university's educational television station, claimed the Best College TV Station in the South award and first place in the Best College Video News Program category for its program "Northshore News." This is the second time in the past four years the channel has been named Best Station.
     Top student award winners from Southeastern included:
     -- Kelsey Humble of Mandeville, first place in Entertainment Writing;
     -- Jessica LeBlanc, a reporter with the Southeastern Channel, first place in TV News     Reporting;
     -- Christopher Martin, assistant editor and graphic designer with the student newspaper,    The Lions Roar, first place in Best News Graphic Design.
     Other winners included:
     -- Chrissy Carter of LaPlace, reporter with the Southeastern Channel, second place for Best TV Hard News Reporter, second place for Best College TV Journalist, and third place for Best Overall College Journalist;
     -- Lindory Dyson of Tickfaw, second place in Communication Law;
     -- Adrienne Rousse of Cutoff, Jasmine Tate of Mount Herman, and Claire Salinas of Hammond, second place, Public Relations Campaign Competition; Rachel Montoya of Baton Rouge, Crystal Schayot of Slidell, and Catherine Monica of LaPlace, third place in Public Relations Crisis Communications.
     More than 300 students attended the conference representing 30 universities in the eight-state region of Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Tennessee, Alabama, Florida, Georgia and North Carolina.




More News...