Southeastern student to present “The Fun House” November 26

Monday, November 18, 2013
by: Tonya Lowentritt

HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University dance student Crystal Schayot will present "The Fun House" Nov. 26 at 7:30 p.m. in Vonnie Borden Theatre, located on Southeastern's main campus in D Vickers Hall.

General admission tickets for "The Fun House" are $5 and will be available one hour prior to the performance in the D Vickers lobby. For more information, contact Schayot at

Originally from New Orleans, Shayot said the concert has a strong theatrical influence throughout the show.

"The concert can be considered as more of a 'theatre experience,' with audience members experiencing the different rooms in the Fun House," she said.

The performance includes about 20 pieces, all choreographed by Schayot, with about 30 cast members who have been rehearsing since August. Schayot said the concert includes several different genres of dance, including tap, jazz, lyrical, modern, musical theatre, hip hop, contemporary, and pointe, with many fusions between the styles.

"The pieces are all very diverse and will strike a variety of emotions in the audience. There will also be some interaction with the audience, entertainment during intermissions, and many more surprises for everyone attending," she said. "I hope the audience members allow themselves to feel and put a personal, deeper meaning to certain pieces, and that the show will spark something in their imaginations."

Dancers performing in the concert include Faith Allen and Joshua Josiah, Ponchatoula; Landon Andries, Addis; Karlee Babbel and Hannah Waldron, Mandeville; Linsdy Brown, El Paso, Tex.; Christa Clement and Leah Reeb, Chalmette; Emily-Kate Crnko, Holden; Caitlyn and Kelcie Darder, Savanna Faught, Kayla Hennessey, Jamilynne Johnson and Shan'Yeka Knight, Slidell; Tyron'E Hawkins, Holly Heil, and Krystal Ingalls of Baton Rouge.

Additional dancers include Lauren Larson, Watson; Destiny Levert, Denham Springs; Joe Matherne, Luling; Mindi Materne, Des Allemands; Miranda Miller, Walker; Summer Moore, Prairieville; Felicity Prosperie, Houma; Brent Rutherford, Clinton; Schayot, New Orleans; Aria Silva, Fullerton, Calif.; and Jaquan Warren, Franklinton.


More News...

More News...