Southeastern's Delta Tau Delta chapter earns national ranking

Wednesday, March 11, 2015
by: Tonya Lowentritt

HAMMOND – The Southeastern Louisiana University Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta is the recipient of the prestigious Hugh Shields Award, presented to the top chapters in the country.

The award is given annually to the top 10 chapters of Delta Tau Delta across the nation, said Chapter Advisor Gene Pregeant. The award is based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni relations.

The chapter also received individual programming awards for excellence in the area of academics, membership education and ritual performance. Chad Mouledous of Metairie, was recognized as President of the Inter-Fraternal Council at Southeastern, and Ross Tomko of Walker, was chosen as the Outstanding Chapter President in the Division, which includes 30 chapters and colonies.

"Coming home from Southern Division left me with a feeling of pride and happiness for our chapter," said Nick Nelson of Ponchatoula, chapter president. "We have worked extremely hard over the last few semesters to get where we are, and it is fulfilling to see the effort put forth by our men recognized with multiple awards. To come back as a Top 10 chapter in the nation is not only acknowledgement that we are doing great things, but also motivation to keep pushing ourselves toward even better things in the future."

The awards capped another active year for the brothers of Epsilon Phi. Their cumulative GPA was 2.904.

Community service projects for the fraternity during the year included their work for the national philanthropy JDRF (Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation), Relay for Life and Habitat for Humanity. Campus service included work at the Southeastern Laboratory School and Chefs Evening, the university's largest fundraiser to enhance academic programming, and Lion Nation Celebration, the annual fundraiser for Southeastern Athletics.

Members of Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta include Seth Leto, Amite; Landon Brown, Cody Favaro, Matthew Guillot, Grayson Jackson, Josh Porche, and Zachary Rogers, Baton Rouge; Evan Lapeyrouse, Bourg; Antonio Ragusa, Central; Keagan Polkey, Cut-Off; Austin Smith, Denham Springs; Matthew Reed, Donaldsonville; Geron Persaud, Franklinton; Ivy Gonzales, Galiano; Tristyn Wheeler and Brennen Waguespack, Gonzales; Christopher Hudspeth, Benjamin Schnadelbach, and Joshua Ormand, Hammond; Beau Moore, Houma; Justin Archote, Independence; Victor Earl, Cameron Pigeon and Jared Vogel, Kenner; Zachary Edwards, Livingston; Ryan Fonseca and Garrin Pellegrin, Mandeville; Evan Bailey and Chad Mouledous, Metairie; Brent Bourgeois, Pearl River; Austin Henderson, Seth Hebert, and Nicholas Nelson, Ponchatoula; Brennan Michel, Prairieville; Joshua Bremer, Kristian Burns, Matthew Conaway, Scott Harpster, David Nicoletti, Mason Owens, Brendan Sundrud, Justin Weaver, and Oliver Young Hernandez; Slidell; Christian Owens, Springfield; Austin Credeur, Shaun Lowe, Taylor Sharp, and Ross Tomko, Walker; Jacob Bellairs, Lexington, VA; Justin Williamson, Waldorf, Md.; and Bailey Callahan, Weir, Miss.

New members include Ian Harter, Baton Rouge; Dylan Stanley, Mandeville; Storm Coates, Ponchatoula; Ross Michel, Prairieville; Braie Peterson, Robert; and Daniel Moore, Slidell.

More News...