Southeastern Dance Performance Project to present “Movement Shifting” March 25 and 26

Thursday, March 19, 2015
by: Tonya Lowentritt

HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University's Department of Fine and Performing Arts' dance company, Dance Performance Project, will present a concert directed by Instructor and Artistic Director Keith "Skip" Costa on March 25 and 26.

Scheduled at 7:30 p.m. both days, "Movement Shifting" will take place in Pottle Music Building Auditorium.

"Movement has the brilliant power to shift lives, to shift emotions and to shift directions," Costa said.

General admission tickets to the one-hour concert are $5 and will be available one hour prior to the performance. For more information, contact Costa at

"The prelude to the concert is entitled 'Washed Away," Costa added. "At 7 p.m. there will be seven dances performed simultaneously in outdoor locations in front of Pottle Music Building."

Choreographers for the outdoor performance are Costa, Lindsy Brown of El Paso, Tex., Tyron'E Hawkins of Baton Rouge, Arianna Hodge and Michaela Thanars of Slidell, Joseph Matherne of Luling, and Jaquan Warren of Franklinton.

Choreographers for the stage performances are Faith Allen and Christa Clement Sevin of Ponchatoula, Brown, Costa, Matherne and Warren.

Two of the dance pieces to be presented during the concert were selected to be performed during the South Regional Conference of the 2015 American College Dance Festival in Clarksville, Tenn., earlier this month.

"Time," choreographed and performed by Allen and set to the music "To Build a Home" by The Cinematic Orchestra, and "The Book of Life," choreographed by Brown and performed by dancers Allen, Brown, Matherne and Sevin to "You Will Pull Through" by Barcelona, were selected as the student representative work from Southeastern to be performed.

In addition, Costa's "Courage, Hope, Strength" performed to Simon and Garfunkel's "Bridge Over Troubled Waters" was selected for the Gala Concert at the 2015 ACDA conference.

Dancers performing in the concert include Desiree Acosta of Destrehan; Stephanie Amerson of Hammond; Tiffany Armstrong of Loranger; Stacie Doughty, DeShant'e Epps and Noah Guitroz of New Orleans; John Forrest Duplantier of Covington; Bracie Johnson of Baker; Hayley Jordan and Hawkins of Baton Rouge; Aliyah Malancon and Jasmine Taylor of St. James; Lillian Marcus and Alexis May of Denham Springs; and Samantha O'Neill, Leah Reeb, Hodge and Thanars of Slidell.


More News...