Southeastern convocation to launch new academic year

Tuesday, August 2, 2016
by: Rene Abadie

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University will launch the 2016-17 academic year with its annual fall convocation for faculty and staff on Friday, Aug. 12, in the Student Union Grand Ballroom.
     Scheduled for 11 a.m., the convocation will include greetings and a state of the university address by President John L. Crain. Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Tena Golding will preside over the event, which is open to the community.
     The convocation will include presentation of the President’s Awards for Excellence, the university’s highest honors for faculty and staff. Receiving the awards are Instructor of English David Armand, excellence in artistic activity; Political Science Professor Margaret Gonzalez-Perez, excellence in research; Professor of Education Paige Lilley Schulte, excellence in teaching; Professor Education Colleen Klein-Ezell, excellence in faculty service; and Mark Whitmer, assistant director of Physical Plant Services, excellence in unclassified staff service.
     Also scheduled for recognition are faculty and staff who have been with the university for 25, 30, 35 and 40 years; those faculty receiving tenure and promotions, emeritus faculty designees and donors who have established newly endowed professorships and scholarships.
     The annual Alumni Association-sponsored picnic will immediately follow the morning’s ceremonies in the ballroom. Additional sponsors of the picnic include Aramark, First Guaranty Bank, and North Oaks Health System.

More News...