Southeastern students receive awards for student yearbook

Monday, February 29, 2016
by: Tonya Lowentritt


     HAMMOND – The work of six Southeastern Louisiana University students on the university’s 2015 yearbook, “Le Souvenir,” has been honored with Gold Circle Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association in New York.
     Editor-in-Chief Fernanda Chagas, a senior graphic design and printmaking major of Belo Horizonte, Brazil, led the team of student designers who were recognized for their work on the yearbook.
     “I want to congratulate and thank the staff of Le Souvenir for helping me put the 2015 yearbook together,” said Chagas. “It was a great journey and it is nice to be recognized for our hard word and efforts.”
     A first place certificate was awarded for pages featuring spring 2015 commencement ceremony in the “people spread with mug photos.” Megan Ferrando, a senior English education major of Mandeville, and Chagas were recognized for their work.
     The team also received another first place certificate for the pages featuring headshots of the graduating students in their caps and gowns in the category “people spread with mug photos multi-page presentation.”
     A second place certificate was given in the “sports pages” category that featured the football team. Chagas, along with Tamara Alexander, a junior kinesiology major from Baton Rouge; Heather Jewell, a sophomore communication major from Ventress; and Jay Love, a senior communications major from Denham Springs, were all recognized for their efforts.
     Along with the Gold Circle Awards, a gold medalist certificate was received for a critique conducted by the CSPA. The judged praised the publication for “beauty in its simplicity and clean lines” and for a “unique layout design…using creative and powerful images.”
     The 33rd annual Gold Circle Awards attracted more than 4,200 yearbook and digital entries from college, universities and secondary schools throughout the United States. Judges cited a total of 506 winners as either First, Second or Third Place or for Certificates of Merit for those deemed worthy of honorable mention in a category.
     “Each edition of the Le Souvenir is unique and different,” said Lee E. Lind, director of Student Publications. “What is constant from year-to-year is the dedication and hard work of our student editors and staff. This recognition from the CSPA serves to reaffirm the pride we have in the accomplishments of our students.”
     The CSPA is an international student press association, founded in 1925, uniting student journalists and faculty advisers at schools and colleges though educational conference, idea exchanges and awards programs.

More News...