Southeastern Channel student productions win national videographer awards

Thursday, October 13, 2016Southeastern students win videograper awards
by: Tonya Lowentritt

NATIONAL AWARD WINNERS-The Southeastern Channel won 2016 Videographer Awards for nine student productions, including music videos, public service announcements, and a short film. Winners, seated from left, are Steven Farmer of Ponchatoula, Jordan Reid of Luling, Mason Dauphin of Luling, and Ben Delbert of Covington; standing, from left, are Southeastern Channel General Manager and instructor Rick Settoon, Trevor Vampran of Prairieville, Jeremy Rhodes of New Orleans, and Steve Zaffuto, channel operations manager and class instructor. Not shown are Dominique Brogle of Destrehan, Brittany Robinson of Slidell, and Danielle Shearer of Ponchatoula.

     HAMMOND – Nine Southeastern Louisiana University student-produced television productions have been recognized with 2016 national Videographer Awards.
     The Southeastern Channel, the university’s educational access channel airing on Charter 199, won one first-place Award of Excellence, four second-place Awards of Distinction, and four Honorable Mentions for student-produced music videos, public service announcements, and a short film.
     The students wrote, produced, directed, videotaped and edited all of the programs for both the Channel and production courses in the Electronic Media concentration of the Department of Languages and Communication.
     “We’re excited that so many of our television and film students continue to win national honors for their outstanding work,” said Rick Settoon, Southeastern Channel general manager.  “It’s a tribute to their talent, creativity, work ethic, and high standards of quality. It’s also a credit to the staff and faculty members who work with them.”
     There were over 1,500 entries from throughout the United States and 15 other countries in the Videographer Awards 2016 competition. The Award of Excellence is awarded to those projects the judges deemed were written, produced, shot and edited in an exceptional manner. The Award of Distinction is awarded for projects that exceed industry standards.  
     The Award of Excellence winner was the music video “Perfect,” produced and directed by Steven Farmer of Ponchatoula.
     Channel programs winning  the Award of Distinction were the public service announcement “League of Losers,” produced by Mason Dauphin of Luling, along with the music videos “No Self Control” by Ben Delbert of Covington; “Drink a Beer” by Trevor Vampran of Prairieville; and “Spend Your Money” by Dauphin, Jordan Reid of Luling, and Jeremy Rhodes of New Orleans.
     Productions winning Honorable Mention included the public service announcements “LOPA,” produced by Dominique Brogle of Destrehan, and “The Trevor Project,” produced by Brittany Robinson of Slidell. Also winning Honorable Mention honors were the music video “Bad Blood,” produced by Danielle Shearer of Ponchatoula, and the short film “The Messenger,” produced, directed, and videotaped by Reid, edited by Dauphin, and written by Rhodes.
     The winning student productions will air on the Southeastern Channel this fall in episodes of the award-winning show “Cinematheque,” featuring student short films, music videos, and documentary shorts.
     The Videographer Award is considered one of the most coveted awards in the video industry. Winners include network news operations, television and cable stations, production companies, international advertising agencies, and student producers.
     The awards are judged by industry professionals in the Association of Marketing and Communication Professionals who look for companies or individuals whose talent exceeds a high standard of excellence and whose work serves as a benchmark for the industry.
     In the past 13 years the Southeastern Channel has won over 300 national, international and regional awards, including 13 Emmys. Channel video on-demand programs and the live 24/7 webcast can be seen at

More News...