Southeastern's Delta Tau Delta Chapter earns top award

Monday, April 24, 2017
by: Tonya Lowentritt

     HAMMOND – Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity at Southeastern Louisiana University is the recipient of the prestigious Hugh Shields Flag, presented to only the top 10 chapters across the United States.
     The Hugh Shields flag is the highest award the national fraternity can bestow upon a chapter and is based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni  relations.  
     The award marks the 17th time the chapter has been named among the fraternity’s top 10.
     Other awards won by Epsilon Phi included excellence in academics and educational programming for life beyond college. The awards were given at the fraternity’s annual Southern Division Conference which was held recently in Marietta, Ga.
     Chapter President for 2016 Justin Archote was named President of the Year for the Division. The awards capped another impressive year for Epsilon Phi. Their cumulative GPA for fall 2015 was 3.18; for spring 2016 it was 2.967.  
     The chapter conducted a number of community service projects during 2016, including numerous charitable causes such as MADD Dash, the Hammond Police Union Ball, the Tangi Humane Society, and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, the fraternity’s national philanthropy. Nearly $11,000 was raised for JDRF at the chapter’s first-ever clay Shoot Competition last April. Campus service included work at the Southeastern Laboratory School, Chef’s Evening, and Champagne Bingo. The chapter also sponsored programs on sexual assault, the importance of voting and interview tips, among other topics.   
     “This Southern Division Conference was efficient and effective in better preparing me for the coming year as President,” said current Chapter President Tristyn Wheeler. “The Conference left me, and the rest of our chapter, feeling renewed and ready to go. This year we are looking forward to our second annual JDRF clay shoot on April 29, where we will be looking to break last year’s dollars raised.”
     Members of the chapter include the following by city or town:
Amite: Seth Leto, Matthew Matherne, and Aaron Tuminaro;
Baton Rouge: Cameron Duhon, Byrce Garafola, and Zachary Rogers;
Central: Conner Brian and Randy Roach;
Covington: Evan Lapeyrouse, Bourg; Brent Siebert, Clinton; Dominic Armantrout, Joshua Balli, Austin Behlar, Daniel Bonano, Mark Gremillion, Griffin Hakenjos, Richard O’Connell, and Ryan Thomas;
Donaldsonville: Trey Capello;
Gonzales: Clinton King and Tristyn Wheeler;
Hammond: Joshua Asoodeh, Christopher Hudspeth, Tanner LeBlanc, Brandon Luther, Joshua Ormand, and Brody Stevens;
Holden: Zach Addison;
Independence: Justin Archote;
Kenner: Cameron Pigeon;
Livingston: Mason McKey;
Loranger: Alberto Valenzuela;
Mandeville: Ryan Fonseca, John Scholvin, and Christian Shreve;
Pineville: Grant Porter;
Ponchatoula: Vincent Costanza, Daniel Cuevas, Austin Henderson, and Braie Peterson;
Prairieville: Ross Michel;
Slidell: Kristian Burns, David Nicoletti, Brendan Sundrud, Oliver Young Hernandez, and Travis Jones;
Sun: William Busby;
Walker: Matthew Graham, Taylor Sharp, Noah Danburg, Chandler Fredrick, and Cullen Lawton;
Baia Mare, Romania: Claudio Franc.

More News...