Southeastern safety specialist named to national accreditation commission

Thursday, June 29, 2017 Lu Yuan
by: Rene Abadie

     HAMMOND – Lu Yuan, interim head of the Southeastern Louisiana University Department of Computer Science and Industrial Technology, has been re-appointed to a term as commission member for the ABET Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission (ANSAC),  one of the nation’s foremost academic accrediting bodies.
    Yuan, an associate professor and certified safety professional, will serve on the 2017-2018 commission.
    ABET is a non-profit, private accrediting agency for programs such as computer science, applied science, including safety and health, engineering and engineering technology and is recognized as an official accrediting agency by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.
    As a member of the commission, Yuan will participate in scheduled commission meetings and serve as team chairman for one or more site visits to institutions seeking accreditation or re-accreditation.
    “The appointment recognizes the quality of Southeastern’s occupational safety, health, and environment program, housed in the Department of Computer Science and Industrial Technology, and also demonstrates the excellent reputation the program has earned over recent years,” said Yuan.
    Accreditation is a voluntary process and assures a program meets the quality standards of the professions accredited. Southeastern’s bachelor’s program in occupational safety, health and environment – the only one of its kind in the state – has been accredited by the Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission of ABET, Inc. since 2008.
    Yuan was also awarded a $1,500 donation from the Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance (GBRIA) recently, which was used for professional development opportunities and in the recognition of multiple graduating seniors receiving Graduate Safety Practitioner designations from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.

More News...