Southeastern vocalists claim awards at Louisiana competition


Wednesday, November 14, 2018 NATS winners
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

SOUTHEASTERN STUDENTS WIN ACCOLADES AT COMPETITION – Southeastern Louisiana University vocal performance students recently received accolades at the Louisiana Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) competition. Pictured, from left, are Joshua Staes, William Dopp, Alfred Harper, Andrew Butler, Jody Bennett, Ryan Blanchfield, Sara Cage, Caitlyn Rodrigue, Cody Sires (alumnus) and Camryn Rodrigue.


     HAMMOND – Ten Southeastern Louisiana University vocal performance students and one alumnus were finalists – including four first place winners – at the Louisiana Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) competition held recently at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches.
     Sara Cage of Baton Rouge was the first student in Southeastern history to receive three first place awards at the competition in the senior women’s division, Hall Johnson spiritual category, and upper level music theater-women. Cage also received the Governor’s Award as the most promising student at the competition.
     Also receiving first place nods were William Dopp of Independence, sophomore men; Caitlyn Rodrigue of Thibodaux, sophomore women; and Joshua Staes of Baton Rouge, older advanced men.
     Other students recognized at the competition include the following: Andrew Butler of River Ridge, second place sophomore men; Cody Sires, now a Southeastern alumnus of Violet, second place older student adult women and men; Alfred Harper of New Orleans, third place junior men; Jody Bennett of Hammond, fourth place junior men; Ryan Blanchfield of Hammond, fourth place younger advanced men; Camryn Rodrigue of Thibodaux fourth place sophomore women; and Brennan Simmons of Hammond, honorable mention senior men.
     The auditions were judged by voice teachers from the NATS Louisiana Chapter. Students participated in lectures and master classes as part of the conference.
     Members of the Southeastern voice faculty who contributed to conference events included Jennifer Sciortino Mouledous, Joy Ratliff, Alissa Rowe, Stephen Rushing and Kay Wainwright Schepker.

More News...