Southeastern convocation to launch new academic year


Tuesday, August 6, 2019 
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University will launch the 2019-20 academic year with its annual fall convocation for faculty and staff on Friday, Aug. 16, in the Student Union Grand Ballroom.
     Scheduled for 11 a.m., the convocation will include greetings and a state of the university address by President John L. Crain. Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Tena L. Golding will preside over the event, which is open to the community.
     The convocation will include presentation of the President’s Awards for Excellence, the university’s highest honors for faculty and staff. Receiving the awards are Instructor of Drawing Benjamin Diller, excellence in artistic activity; Professor of Mathematics Kent Neuerburg, excellence in research; Associate Professor of Art History Irene Nero, excellence in teaching; Professor of Library Science and Coordinator of User Education Dayne Sherman, excellence in faculty service; and Corliss Dupuy, assistant director of Human Resources, excellence in unclassified staff service.
     Also scheduled for recognition are faculty and staff who have been with the university for 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years; those faculty receiving tenure and promotions, emeritus faculty designees and donors who have established newly endowed professorships and scholarships.
     The annual picnic will immediately follow the morning’s ceremonies in the ballroom. Sponsors include Aramark, La Capital Federal Credit Union, and North Oaks Health System.

More News...