Southeastern Honors and International Initiatives recognizes top students


Monday, December 9, 2019 
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University’s Honors and International Initiatives honored students at its fall 2019 recognition ceremony Dec. 3. Students were recognized in three areas - Scholars Diploma, Sophomore Honors Distinction, and Thirteen Club.
     Students who receive the Scholars Diploma have earned fifteen hours of honors core credit, nine hours of upper-level honors credit in their major, and successfully authored and defended an honors thesis.
     Honorees of Sophomore Honors distinction have completed fifteen hours of honors credit earning no grade lower than a ‘B’ by the end of the fourth regular semester.
     Thirteen Club Honors Society inductees are seniors who have at least a 3.2 grade point average, never earned a grade lower than a ‘C’ and have completed all of their academic work at Southeastern. Seventy students were inducted into the Thirteen Club.
     Four students were recognized for earning the university’s Honors Diploma. Recipients included Fawaz Adesina in Physics, Damodar Dahal in Computer Science and Mathematics, and Madeline Rey Bartels in Psychology, all of Hammond, and Alexis Minor of Baton Rouge in Communication.
     The list of students receiving Sophomore Honors distinction includes the following:

ALBANY – Maiah Woodring and Justin Woodring

BATON ROUGE – Joline Fotenot

CENTRAL – Jacob Summerville

COVINGTON – Kaine Newman, Maria Paz, and Heaven Sutton

DENHAM SPRINGS – Raychelle Riley

FOLSOM – Sarah Butzman and Amelia McCann

GONZALES – Meagan Ross

HAMMOND – Fawaz Adesina and Puja Sapkota

INDEPENDENCE – Avelina Rodgers

LACOMBE – Frannie Reyes

LIVINGSTON – Caleb Charpentier and Jessica Litolff

LORANGER – Jamie Peterson

MADISONVILLE – Kelsey Gabourel

MANDEVILLE – Blair Bass, Katherine Gunther, and James Kinchen

NEW ORLEANS – Adriyan Blue, Lauren Bush, and Sierra Dashner

PAULINA – Julie Yuguchi Dos Anjos

PEARL RIVER – Victoria Santana and Daniel Seither

PONCHATOULA – Christina Ernst

PRAIRIEVILLE – Haylie Wagoner

SLIDELL – Grace Scharfenstein, Tyler Tran, and Alexis Young

THIBODAUX – Leah Baudoin

TICKFAW – Abraham Chance and Jakob Chance.

More News...