Southeastern Alumni Association announces Board of Directors


Tuesday, July 2, 2019Alumni Association Board of Directors 2019-20
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNOUNCED – The Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association announced its 2019-20 Board of Directors. Seated in the front row, from left, are President-Elect Patrick Brazan, Treasurer Kristen Bell, President Dickie Whitson, Immediate Past-President Beth Ebberman, and Secretary Stephanie Kropog. Standing, from left, are Nakia Merrill, Alicia Himber, Richard Moran, Bridget Laborde, Past-President Brad Stevens, Executive Director of Alumni Relations Michelle Biggs, Danny Wallette, Tasha Dameron, Troy Green, Sonja Newman, and Malcolm Fitzhugh.

     HAMMOND – Richard “Dickie” Whitson of Springfield has been elected president and chairman of the board of directors for 2019-20 Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association.
     A 1971 graduate of Southeastern with a bachelor of arts degree in business administration, Whitson retired after a 35-year career with Allegiance Health Care Corp in medical device equipment sales. He currently serves as chairman of the board for Rosaryville Spirit Life Center, secretary for the Lion Athletics Association, founder and president of Golden Pride and volunteers with Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Southeastern’s Phi Chapter of Sigma Tau Gamma fraternity.
     Joining him on the Executive Committee will be President-Elect Patrick Brazan of Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company; Secretary Stephanie Kropog of North Oaks Health System; and Treasurer Kristen Bell with Northshore Technical Community College.
     Executive Director of Alumni Relations Michelle Biggs said board members commit their time and expertise to fulfill the association’s mission of strengthening ties between the university, alumni and community.
     “The board is comprised of a wide range of individuals who represent the entire alumni base. Each member serves a two-year term, and his or her job is to assist in promoting the mission of the Alumni Association in tandem with that of Southeastern,” said Biggs. “They promote pride, help in student recruitment efforts, act as mentors, preserve traditions of the university and encourage active membership in the association.”
     Also serving on the board are Tasha Lamkin Dameron with Simply Real Estate LLC; Malcolm Fitzhugh with Farm Bureau Insurance; Troy Green with White Castle High School; Alicia Motichek Himber with Southeastern’s Chemistry and Physics Department; Bridget Bankston Laborde with Northshore Technical Community College; Gina Giacone Laird with Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana, Sonja Ragusa Newman with United Way of Southeast Louisiana; and Dennis “Danny” Wallette with Tangipahoa Mosquito Abatement.
     Biggs said that as part of Whitson’s incoming president’s duties he has appointed two one-year termed board members to round out the membership representation in the year ahead. These include Nakia Merrill with Cedar Valley College in Lancaster, Tex., and Richard Moran with Pala Interstate.
     Ex-Officio members of the board include Immediate Past President Beth Carney Ebberman of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana; Past President Brad Stevens of Edwards and Stevens Law Firm in Amite; Southeastern President John L. Crain; Vice President of University Advancement Wendy Lauderdale; and Biggs.

More News...