Southeastern Honors and International Initiatives recognizes top students


Thursday, May 13, 2021 
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University’s Honors and International Initiatives honored students at its spring 2021 recognition ceremony May 5. Students were recognized in four areas - Scholars Diploma, Sophomore Honors Distinction, Freshman of the Year, and Thirteen Club.
     Students who receive the Scholars Diploma have earned fifteen hours of honors core credit, nine hours of upper-level honors credit in their major, and successfully authored and defended an honors thesis.
     Honorees of Sophomore Honors distinction have completed fifteen hours of honors credit earning no grade lower than a ‘B’ by the end of the fourth regular semester.
     Thirteen Club Honors Society inductees are seniors who have at least a 3.2 grade point average, never earned a grade lower than a ‘C’ and have completed all of their academic work at Southeastern. One hundred seventeen students were inducted into the Thirteen Club.
     Honors Freshman of the Year finalists were nominated by a member of the honors faculty and selected by an essay-evaluation and interview panel process. Five students were selected as finalists. Finalists included Nicholas Breaux of Central, Gage Dawsey of Denham Springs, Fajr Fayed of Egypt, Alexandra Gomez-Resendiz of Ponchatoula, and Theresa Brown of Slidell, with Fayed claiming the title.
     Thirteen students were recognized for earning the university’s Honors Diploma. Recipients included Rachael Tullier of Baton Rouge in psychology; Ryleigh Magee of Denham Springs and Victoria Rocquin of Gramercy, both in communication; Emery Foster of Hammond in art and Rachel Yang in general studies, both of Hammond; Basanta Khakurel of Nepal in biology, Lauren Ashley Griffin-Scudari in biological sciences, Hannah Henderson in finance, and Sabrina Hickey in kinesiology, all of Ponchatoula; Cameron Diez of St. Amant in kinesiology; Saydie Rusk of Simmesport in marketing; Rebecca Shields of Slaughter in sociology and criminal justice; and Victoria Santana of Slidell in management.
     The list of students receiving Sophomore Honors distinction includes the following:
     BATON ROUGE – Nicholas Manchester
     BELLE ROSE – Kamian Buggage
     COVINGTON – Joshua Couture, Brittany Murdock and Tanner Rapier
     DENHAM SPRINGS – Madelyn Bernard, Jonathan Taylor, and Caroline Watson
     FRANKLINTON– Marissa Buttone
     GARYVILLE– Alyssa Duhe
     HAMMOND – Zoe Burns, Madalyn Duncan, Allie Ferrara, and Ally Holloway
     HATTIESBURG, MISS. – Erin Williams
     LACOMBE – Kaylee Bech
     MADISONVILLE – Stephanie Carter
     MANDEVILLE – Mateo Chaney
     PAULINA – Carter McComack
     PONCHATOULA – Jourdan Olmstead
     SLIDELL – Madison Garrett, DaJonique Johnson, Christinia Lindsly, and Zoe McKean
     TERRYTOWN – Joshua Freeman
     WALKER – Hannah Bridevaux

More News...