Student Awards 2017 - 2018

- » Deondra Bell and Sara Cage were awarded second place in the undergraduate division at the National Opera Association.
- » A team of five Southeastern students were awarded third place in the Conference of State Bank Supervisors. The competition is designed to give students experience with real world banking studies. The team was comprised of Kathryn Bokun, Nicholas Brennan, Mason Case, Elizabeth Hunter, and Robert Maddox.
- » Six Southeastern students were finalists at the recent Southern Region Convention of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) Competition. Adult men division: Cody Sires, second place and Ryan Blanchfeld, fourth place; Senior women division: Rachel Denton, fourth place; Junior men division; Brennan Simmons, second place and Wesley Newton, fourth place; Freshman women: Caitlyn Rodriguez, fourth place.
- At the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC) the Southeastern Channel was named second-place winner as "Best College TV Station in the South," and the channel's student newscast, "Northshore News," won second place for "Best College Video News Program in the South." Larshall Green, editor-in-chief of Southeastern's student newspaper "The Lion's Roar." earned first place in the Feature Writing Competition.
 "Best of the South" individual student winners were: Jonathan Rhodes, first place for Best Sports Writer; Tara Barbe of Ponchatoula, fourth place for Best Television Hard News Reporting; Jaylon Morris of Baton Rouge, ninth place for Best Television News Feature Reporter; Green of Hammond, tenth place for Best Arts and Entertainment Writer.
- » Leah Stone, a Southeastern counseling student, was awarded the Minority Fellowship Program-Youth by the NBCC Foundation.

Eight Southeastern students were finalists at the Louisiana Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS). Sara Cage and Claire Putnam won first in the junior's and senior women's. Earl Poole, second place in the Hal Johnson spiritual category; Cody Sires, second place older advanced men and women; Logan Watts, third place sophomore men; Haylee Zeringue, third place sophomore women; Terelle Bibbins, third place senior men; and Anne Labranche, fourth place junior women.

- Wesley Boone was named 2018 Louisiana Student Broadcaster of the Year by the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters (LAB) at its annual Prestige Awards Luncheon.
- Daniel Cuevas, a Southeastern Junior majoring in Occupational Safety, Health, and Environment was awarded a national scholarship from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.
- Amanda Kitch was awarded the 2018 Louisiana Association of Broadcasters Student Scholarship at the LAB's annual Prestige Luncheon. Kitch is an anchor, reporter, and producer for the Southeastern Channel's student newscast, "Northshore News."
- Seth Leto, a Southeastern senior, has been chosen as one of only 10 university students from across the state to participate in the inaugural Governor's Fellows Program in Louisiana Government. As a participant in the program, Leto will have the opportunity to gain first-hand knowledge about the development and implementation of public policy, as well as the state's rich history and current affairs of Louisiana government.

