There is something for everyone at Southeastern. Explore our undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs, typical career paths and related fields – then decide which one is right for you.
General Fees: Students who register at Southeastern Louisiana University pay fees determined by the number of semester hours scheduled, including hours taken for audit. It is the responsibility of the student to assure that fees are paid by the fee payment deadline. Non-resident fees are in-addition to tuition for both undergraduate and graduate students.
If a student does not plan to attend the University, once they have enrolled in courses, it is the student's responsibility to drop all courses before the first day of classes. The student will be financially responsible for any courses that remain on their schedule once classes begin.
Classes will be cancelled for students whose fees are not paid by the fee payment deadline. Fees are considered paid if the student's outstanding balance is zero or if the current semester Anticipated (Pending) Financial Aid is greater or equal to the outstanding fees on the student's account as of the fee payment deadline.
Please visit our website to view the fee schedule.
Textbook Rental Fee--All students who register at Southeastern Louisiana University will be charged a mandatory textbook rental fee of $45 per class (no maximum) if a rental book is required for the course in which they are registered. This fee is determined by the number of courses taken which require a rental textbook. This fee will appear as a separate line item on the student's fee statement. The last day to return rental textbooks with no penalties is the first business day following the last day of finals. A fine will be assessed on books returned from the second business day through the fifth business day following final exams of a semester. Books not returned by the fifth business day following the last day of finals will be assessed a purchase fee on the student account.
The textbook rental fee is non-refundable except for students who drop courses during the drop/add period. Students who resign will receive a refund of the rental fee based on the current refund schedule.
Id Fee--All students are assessed a mandatory, non-refundable fee to validate their ID card each semester the student is enrolled.
International Student Services Fee-All international students are required to pay, in addition to regular tuition and non-resident tuition, a $60 international student services fee each semester ($30, Summer).
Course Specific Fees--Some courses require additional course specific fees in the following areas of study: Biology, Chemistry, Counseling and Human Development, Family & Consumer Sciences, Nursing, Computer Science and Industrial Technology, Math, Marketing and Finance, Kinesiology, Health & Human Sciences Visual Arts, Fine & Performing Arts, English, Foreign Language and History and Freshman Success. These fees are identified in the course description.
Online Learning Fee--There is an additional fee per credit hour for all courses taught by Online Learning, i.e. internet, compressed video, etc. A $50 Online Learning Program Fee per credit hour may be charged for Graduate level students ($30 Undergraduate) enrolled in an academic degree program offered entirely through Online Learning.
Application Fee–Louisiana and Out-of-State Students: A $20 non-refundable application fee is required of all students who apply. The fee must be paid by an established deadline or a late fee may be assessed.
Application Fee–International Students - A $30 non-refundable application fee is required of all international students who apply. The fee must be paid by an established deadline or a late fee may be assessed.
Application Fee-–Readmission of Former Students - A $20 non-refundable application fee is required of all students who apply for readmission to the University. The fee must be paid by an established deadline or a late fee may be assessed.
Late Application Fee--Students who apply for admission or readmission after an established deadline will be charged a $50 non-refundable late application fee in addition to the required application fee.
The deadline for applying and paying the application fee without a late charge is:
May 1 for Summer Session
July 15 for Fall Semester
December 1 for Spring Semester
Orientation Fee--A fee is not required of students participating in Orientation Programs. However, charges may assessed for housing and certain meals.
The deadline for applying and paying the application fee without the late charge is:
May 1 for Summer Session
July 15 for Fall Semester
December 1 for Spring Semester
Additional fees are required for some courses in the following areas: Biology, Chemistry, Family and Consumer Sciences, Nursing, Industrial Technology, Math, Kinesiology, Health Studies, Visual Arts, English, Horticulture, Communications, Foreign Language, History, and students whose program is Education or enrolled in Education classes. There is also an additional fee per credit hour for all Online Learning courses, i.e. Internet, compressed video, etc.
For information on housing fees, please call University Housing at 985-549-2118 and/or
refer to our website at http://www.southeastern.edu/admin/housing/index.html.
**All fees are subject to change without notice.
Southeastern Louisiana University has a continuing commitment to offer quality dining programs and facilities that reflect the lifestyles of today's college student. There are several locations around campus to serve students. The Mane Dish features an all-you-care-to-eat menu with entrees freshly prepared upon order. Numerous choices range from a salad bar, home-style entrees, burgers, deli sandwiches, and fresh pasta dishes, to name a few. Retail options, such as Chic-fil-A, Mooyah, Panda Express, and Taco Bell are offered in the Lion's Den food court. Other dining locations include Subway, Popeye's, Quizno's, Starbucks and two convenience stores
Dining Services has an extensive list of meal plans that cater to the needs of all students. The meal plans consist of a straight declining balance program (Cub Cash) or a meal plan that is utilized primarily for meals served in the Mane Dish. It is mandatory for students who live on campus to purchase a meal plan. Meal plan options are available to resident students. For more information on Dining Services please refer to Dining Services under the Auxiliary Services section in the catalog.
Post Office Box Rental Fee--Rent for a post office box is on a per semester basis and is $16 for fall and spring and $8 for the summer. There is no deposit required for a post office box key; however, the student will be assessed a $25 fee if the key is not returned when the box is closed. An additional key may be obtained for a fee of $25.
Graduate Students--A fee of $25 per copy is charged for the binding of the master’s thesis/dissertation. The student is required to purchase a maximum of 2 bound copies for the University library. The student is allowed to purchase additional bound copies up to a maximum of five. Individuals wishing to have more than five copies bound may work with the bindery directly.
Transcript Fee--Students requesting same day transcript service must pay an express fee of $5 to the Controller’s Office for up to 3 copies. Before a transcript will be issued, all outstanding debt must be paid by cash, cashier’s check or money order. Non-cash payment will delay release of transcripts for seven business days.
Diploma Fee--Graduating students will pay a non-refundable diploma fee according to the following schedule.
|Fee||Application Date||Graduation Semester|
|$0||Through September 15||Spring (May Graduation)|
|$15||From September 16 - December 1||Spring (May Graduation)|
|$25||From December 2 - February 15||Spring (May Graduation)|
|No applications accepted for Spring Graduation after February 15|
|$0||Through February 15||Summer/Fall (December Graduation)|
|$15||From February 16 - May 1||Summer/Fall (December Graduation)|
|$25||From May 2 - June 15||Summer (December Graduation)|
|No applications accepted for Summer Graduation after June 15|
|$25||May 2 - September 15||Fall (December Graduation)|
|No applications accepted for Fall Graduation after September 15|
Students who fail to complete graduation requirements must reapply by filing another application and paying fees according to the above schedule. Graduating students are expected to be present at Commencement Exercises. Students must obtain a cap and a gown from the University Bookstore for the Commencement Exercises. This cost must be paid separately.
Registration Fee: All students who drive automobiles, trucks, or motorcycles/motorbikes on the campus must register the vehicle and pay a motor vehicle registration fee based on the schedule below.
Students who register motor vehicles will be charged the following fees according to the semester or session in which the annual motor vehicle registration begins.*
Commuters and Resident Students
Registrations Begins Motor Vehicle and Motorcycle Fee
Fall Semester $60
Spring Semester $40
*Refund: Once a vehicle is registered, there will not be any refunds.
Member of the University of Louisiana System | Accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)
© 2023 Southeastern Louisiana University | All Rights Reserved