College Theatre Festival


The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival



The Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) provides our students with great opportunities at the state and regional level. A regional festival is held each year bringing together schools from the states of Louisiana, Arkansas, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. The festival opens many doors for our students to take master classes, network and interview for graduate schools. At the regional festival each school competes for a chance to be considered for the national festival in the spring at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C.


Past Southeastern Theatre Student Awards/Honors


  • Matt Doyle Barbizon Award for Excellence in Sound Design.
  • Matt Doyle Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas (SILV) Award for Excellence.
  • Miranda Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas (SILV) Award for Excellence.
  • Jordin Jones Irene Ryan Finalist in acting
  • Sarah Balli SDC Directing Initiative Finalist
  •  Ariana Robinson Music Theatre Initiative Dance Finalist


  • Provence Hatfield invited to study at the prestigious Open Jar Institute in New York City.
  • Kalee Broussard Musical Theatre
  • Rachel Davis Musical Theatre
  • Michelle Guillot Musical Theatre
  • Justin Davis Acting
  • Jamie Rome Acting
  • Misty Gros Acting
  • Anthony Gary Make-up and Costume Design


  • Southeastern Theatre’s High and Mighty won the following awards and honors from KCACTF:
  • Irene Ryan nominations Michelle Guillot, Neal Eli, Jaimee Rome
  • Musical Theatre Initiative nominations for Kallee Broussard, Rachel Davis, Provence Hatfield
  • Excellence in Production of an Original Musical:  Department of Fine and Performing Arts
  • Excellence in Scenic Design:  Steve Schepker
  • Excellence in Ensemble Performance:  Cast of High and Mighty   


  • Irene Ryan Acting nominations Lydia Caballero
  • Irene Ryan Acting nominations Kayla Hill


  • Zachary Boudreaux's play, Candy Said, was a national finalist for the John Cauble Short Play Award.



  • Southeastern Theatre's Parking Lot Babies was the only production from Region VI to be held for National Consideration by the KCACTF National Selection Team.

  • Parking Lot Babies received seven national commendations from KCACTF

    • Zachary Boudreaux for Playwriting

    • Amanda Klipsch for Scenic Design

    • Jaren Mitchell for Acting

    • Jessica Mina for Acting

    • Lee Jeansonne for Acting

    • Zachary Boudreaux for Acting

    • Drew Zeringue for Sound Design

  • Zachary Boudreaux received a national fellowship to attend playwriting master classes at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.


  • Tommie Sorrell's Voodoo Vows was a regional finalist for the John Cauble Short Play Award.


  • Southeastern hosts the Louisiana State Festival for KCACTF
    • The following awards and honors were received at this festival:
      • Excellence in Festival Hosting:  Dr. Bryan Depoy, Dr. David Evenson, Chad Winters, James Winter, Richard Walsh, Rusty Tennant, Rachael Johnson, Randy Malbrough, Jr., Ellen Sovkoplas, Steve Schepker, Arielle Lemoine, Jayetta Slawetta, Gabrielle-Renee LeBlanc, Sarah Levesque, Nicole Brantley, Tara Bennett
      • Excellence in Promoting New Works:  Southeastern Louisiana University
      • Honor Crew:  Will Stacey, Mickey Martin, Amanda Klipsch, LaVonna Varnado, Kathryn Steele
      • Excellence in Sound Design: Aaron Griffin, Darnell Campbell, Tara Melvin
      • Excellence in Criticism: Gabrielle-Renee LeBlanc
      • Excellence in Costume Design: Richard Walsh
      • Excellence in Scenic Design: Will Stacey
      • Excellence in Stage Management: Kaci Davis
      • Excellence in Ensemble Cast: Cast of Spunk
      • Excellence in Directing: Rusty Tennant
      • Irene Ryan Acting nominations Jaren Mitchell
      • Irene Ryan Acting nominations Brandy Fulton
      • Irene Ryan Acting nominations Marjorie Parker
      • Respondent’s Choice – Stage Reading: Voodoo Vows by Tommie Sorrell and Wonderland by Gabrielle-Renee LeBlanc
      • Director’s Choice: Spunk
      • Respondent’s Choice: Spunk


  • Southeastern hosts the Louisiana State Festival for KCACTF
    • Excellence in Directing: Chad Winters
    • Respondents Choice: Dead Flowers
    • Production of Dead Flowers (written by faculty member Jim Winter) was selected as an alternate for the regional festival.   


  • Irene Ryan Acting nomination Marjorie Parker
  • Irene Ryan Acting nomination Shiloh Klein
  • Irene Ryan Acting nomination Sarah Boykin



  • Southeastern Theatre was selected to participate at the regional festival of the America College Theatre Festival in Fayetteville, Arkansas. We were in competition with LSU, UNO and Dillard.  This was the first time our university ever advanced to this level.

To find out more information about KCACTF please visit the link below.