News Release

Eighteen students compete for Miss Southeastern 2010 crown

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

Kaleigh Aguilar Alexandra "Lexie" Casarez Kristina Colletta Anna deTiege Brittany Dugas Heather Gonzalez
Aguilar Casarez Colletta deTiege Dugas Gonzalez
Ariel Gradnigo Opal Guillory Suzanne Haslauer Paige Johnson Dynnishea Jones Gabrielle Palma
Gradnigo Guillory Haslauer Johnson Jones Palma
Katie Rylee Lacey Sanchez Crystal Schayot Lacie Thomas Mariah White Brittany Woods
Rylee Sanchez Schayot Thomas White Woods

   HAMMOND – For the first time in Miss Southeastern history, 18 students will compete for the title. Jessica Poumaroux of Baton Rouge, Miss Southeastern 2009 will crown her successor in the annual Southeastern Louisiana University pageant scheduled for Sept. 26, 7 p.m., at the Pottle Music Building Auditorium.
     The pageant has been a part of Southeastern’s history since 1949 and a Miss America preliminary since 1962. The pageant is sponsored by the Campus Activities Board. General admission tickets are $5. Admission is free for Southeastern students, faculty and staff.
     This year also marks the first year the pageant will be streamed live. Those uanble to attend can watch it live at

     The theme of the 2010 Pageant is “A Girl for all Seasons,” said CAB Coordinator Jason Leader. Emcees for the event are Miss Louisiana 2008 Blair Abene, a Southeastern voice performance major and Miss Southeastern 2006, and Veda Abene, executive assistant in the Division of Extended Studies and founder and former president of the FE-Lions. 
     Contestants for the 2010 title are junior marketing major Kayleigh Aguilar of Belle Chase; sophomore kinesiology major Alexandra “Lexie” Casarez of Baton Rouge; sophomore family and consumer science major Kristina Colletta of LaPlace; senior communication major Anna deTiege of Mandeville; senior organizational communication major Brittany Dugas of Covington; junior mass communication major Heather Gonzalez of Hammond; freshman social work major Ariel Gradnigo of Opelousas; junior history major Opal Guillory of Denham Springs; junior accounting major Suzanne Haslauer of Slidell; senior family and consumer sciences major Paige Johnson of Hammond; senior nursing major Dynnishea Jones of Baton Rouge; freshman mass communication major Gabrielle Palma of Mandeville; freshman biology major Katie Rylee of Ponchatoula; sophomore biology major Lacey Sanchez of Baton Rouge; freshman general studies major Crystal Schayot of Slidell; sophomore communication science and disorders major Lacie Thomas of Denham Springs; freshman biochemistry major Mariah White of Denham Springs; and senior education major Brittany Woods of Houma.
     The contestants will compete in five categories including personal interview, on-stage questions, swimsuit, talent and eveningwear.
     Leader said the pageant will again feature the “People’s Choice Award” as a way of collecting donations for the Miss America national platform, Children’s Miracle Network.
“The contestant whose container has the most donations will win the People’s Choice Award,” Leader said. The donations will benefit the Children's Miracle Network.
     Containers for donations in each 2010 contestant’s name will be available in the War Memorial Student Union Mall until the day of the pageant and in the Pottle lobby on the night of the pageant. 
     Miss Southeastern 2010 will advance to the Miss Louisiana Pageant June 24-26 in Monroe.
     For additional information, call 985 549 3805.

More News...