Southeastern chapter of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity named a top ten chapter


Wednesday, May 23, 2018
by: Tonya Lowentritt 


     HAMMOND – Epsilon Phi Chapter of Delta Tau Delta Fraternity at Southeastern Louisiana University is the recipient of the prestigious Hugh Shields Flag, given to the top ten chapters across the United States.
     The Hugh Shields flag is the highest award that the fraternity can bestow upon a chapter and is based on overall performance and programming in the areas of academics, finances, recruitment, membership education, operations, campus leadership, service and alumni relations.
     The award marks the 18th time the chapter has been named among the fraternity’s top 10. Member Matt Graham was also recognized for his service as IFC President on Southeastern’s campus.
     The awards were presented at the fraternity’s annual Southern Division Conference, held in Charlotte, N.C., earlier this year, and capped another impressive year for the members of Epsilon Phi. The chapter’s cumulative GPA for fall 2016 was 3.130, and they achieved the same cumulative GPA for spring 2017.
     The chapter conducted a number of community service projects during 2017, including numerous charitable causes such as MADD Dash, the Hammond Police Union Ball, the Tangi Humane Society, and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, the fraternity’s national philanthropy. Campus service included work at the Southeastern Laboratory School and Chefs Evening.
     “This Southern Division Conference was efficient and effective in better preparing me for the coming year as President. The Conference left me, and the rest of our chapter, feeling renewed and ready to go,” said Chapter President Griffin Hakenjos. “We are looking forward to our annual JDRF clay shoot on Sept. 29, when we will be looking to exceed last year’s dollars raised.”

     Members of the chapter include the following by city or town:
Amite: Seth Leto and Matthew Matherne;

Baton Rouge: Cameron Duhon, Zachary Rogers, and Tyler Suire;

Belle Chasse: Hugo Lujano;

Central: Conner Brian and Randy Roach;

Covington: Joshua Balli, Mark Gremillion, Griffin Hakenjos, and Richard O’Connell;

Denham Springs: Josh Ballard;

Dutchtown: Brian Bourg;

Franklinton: Geron Persaud;

Gonzales: Clinton King, Aric Mackay, Connor Poche, and Tristyn Wheeler;

Gretna: Dominick Marchiafava;

Hammond: Jacob Deliberto and Brandon Luther;

Kenner: Cameron Pigeon;

LaPlace: Blake Luna;

Livingston: Mason McKey;

Loranger: Alberto Valenzuela;

Mandeville: Sean Drudy, John Scholvin and Christian Shreve;

Paulina: Elijah Baldwin;

Ponchatoula: Daniel Cuevas, David Cuevas, Austin Henderson, Braie Peterson, and Austin Petz;

Prairieville: Wesley LeBlanc and Ross Michel;

Rayne: Michael Thibodeaux;

Slidell: Travis Jones;

Sorrento: Michael Melancon;

Springfield: Taylor Brown;

Walker: Chandler Fredricks, Peyton Garon, Matt Graham, Cullen Lawton, Brett Parent, and Dylan Thickman;

Lakeland, Fla: Ryan Thomas;

Waterloo, Ill.: Greysan Moehrs;

Houston, Tex.: Jacob Dupuis;

Baia Mare, Romania: Claudio Franc.

More News...