News Releases

Boyet Junior High student wins Region 8 Science Fair

Judah Fastring of Boyet Junior High School in Slidell was the overall winner of the 2024 Region 8 Science Fair at Southeastern Louisiana University Feb. 2.

Tonya Lowentritt

February 16, 2024

HAMMOND – Judah Fastring of Boyet Junior High School in Slidell was the overall winner of the 2024 Region 8 Science Fair at Southeastern Louisiana University Feb. 2. His winning project, “On a Roll,” received first place honors in the physics and astronomy category. 

     All first and second place regional winners will advance to the state science fair later this spring at Louisiana State University.
     Additional Science Fair winners, listed by school, were:
     BOYET JUNIOR HIGH – Dinah Wetzel, third, behavioral and social science; Gracie Mason and Kylie Stock, third, biochemistry.
     COURTNEY CHRISTIAN SCHOOL– James Rimmer, second, microbiology; Annabelle Lamonte, third, animal science; Jonah Morse, third, chemistry; Samuel Bankston, third, chemistry; Chloe Neal, third, Earth and environmental science; Aiden Fletcher, third, energy – chemical and physical; Landyn Grossnickle and Kaden Robertson, third, engineering and mechanics; Brylee Matherne and Karli Williams, third, mathematical science; Reese Bennett and Tyson Rakocy, honorable mention, animal science; Lucy Jennings, honorable mention, Earth and environmental science; Josie Berthelot, honorable mention, microbiology; Rayna Nelson, honorable mention, microbiology; Jerica Dunnington, honorable mention, physics and astronomy; Melissa Weldon and Sammie Hetler, honorable mention, plant science.
     HOLY GHOST CATHOLIC SCHOOL – Hayden Horzelski, honorable mention, biomedical and health science.
     HOMESCHOOL – Adam Lorenzen, first, mathematical science.
     LITTLE OAK MIDDLE SCHOOL – Amelia Chin, second, energy – chemical and physical.  
     NATALBANY MIDDLE SCHOOL – Dariel Figueroa, third, biochemistry; Jamaure Williams, honorable mention, animal science; Estefani Cruz, honorable mention, cellular and molecular biology; Alyssa Lane, honorable mention, Earth and environmental science; and Bartolo Cabrera, honorable mention, plant science.
     NORTHLAKE CHRISTIAN SCHOOL – Finley Pounders, first, biochemistry; Jackson Watkins, first, computer science; James Lockwood, first, Earth and environmental science; Jayla Smith, second, behavioral and social science; Zoe Slinkard, third, microbiology; and Layla Williams, honorable  mention, microbiology.
     NORTHSHORE PREPARATORY ACADEMY – Liam Oynes, second, Earth and environmental science; and Jax Elmer, honorable mention, microbiology.
     OUR LADY OF LOURDES – Colton Norris, second, chemistry; and Mason Talazac, third, mathematical science.
     ST. HELENA COLLEGE AND CAREER ACADEMY – Alaysia Downing, Jeremiah Scott, Ja’Miya Travis, Y’Daejah Lewis, and Ty’Xavier Melto, third, chemistry.
     ST. PETER CATHOLIC SCHOOL – Henry Daigle, first, behavioral and social science; Kinsley Buchholz, third, biomedical and health science; Joseph Sanders, honorable mention, behavioral and social science.
     SOUTHEASTERN LABORATORY SCHOOL – Isabella Albritton, first, animal science; Vivianna Pugh, first, biomedical and health science; Annabelle Trayler, first, energy – chemical and physical; Enis Barnes, first, engineering mechanics; Kacie Dennis, second, biomedical and health science; Sylvia Weng, second, computer science; Keira Carrone, second, engineering mechanics; Liam Lemons, second, physics and astronomy; Ellie Schexnayder, third, animal science; Eliza Kate Cowser, third, behavioral and social science; Logan Caillouet, third, physics and astronomy; Denise Pina, third, plant science; Noah Lindsey, honorable mention, chemistry; Liam Mondebello, honorable mention, chemistry; Frank Bellazan, honorable mention, engineering mechanics; Kennedi Austin, honorable mention, plant science.


More News…

View more News Releases