2020 Alumnus of the Year


Crystal H. Pichon

Kinesiology and Health Studies
Chief Executive Officer of The Safety Place

Crystal Pichon is a life-long resident of Louisiana, born in Slidell. She is a graduate of Southeastern Louisiana University, completing the B.S. in Health Education and Promotion in 2006, and also holds a M.S. in Non-Profit Administration from LSU-Shreveport. During her last semester at Southeastern she interned at the Safety Council in Baton Rouge, and received immediate employment upon graduation.

Currently, Crystal serves as the Chief Executive Officer of The Safety Place (formerly Lexlee's Kids), a nonprofit organization dedicated to serving the Baton Rouge area through safety education. The goal of the organization is to save and improve the lives of kids 0-18 years by empowering youth and caregivers through awareness of injury risks and prevention. Ms. Pichon has been involved in injury prevention for 13 years with a heavy focus on children and traffic safety. Through The Safety Place, Crystal has offered SLU students internship experiences and professional development in professional writing, community outreach, event planning, public speaking, marketing & communication, program development, conflict resolution, fundraising, resume building, and identifying post-graduation job placement opportunities. Ms. Pichon has also served as a gust speaker in SLU courses, and at a number of SLU events. One of her most recent university partnering projects include a partnership with the SLU-Louisiana Child Welfare Training Academy to develop child safety and injury prevention trainings for foster families.

Crystal is an outstanding alumnus of Southeastern, who has made significant contributions to her field, in a proud Lion graduate, and has stayed connected to her alma mater.



Previous Winners


Year Name Department
2019 Christina Boover Lawrence Health and Human Sciences
2018 Joey Roberts Kinesiology and Health Studies
2017 Monica Nijoka School of Nursing
2016 Samone Cammon Kinesiology & Health Studies
2015 Barbara Hebert Health and Human Sciences
2014 Dr. Cynthia Bienemy School of Nursing
2013 Rosalind Bello Kinesiology and Health Studies
2011  Ken Jenkins   Kinesiology and Health Studies 
2010 Dr. Wanda Spurlock School of Nursing
2009  Dr. Donnie F. Booth  College of Nursing and Health Sciences 
2008 Lisa Johnson Kinesiology and Health Studies
2006 Janet G. Mora Communication Sciences and Disorders
2005  Tammy Louk Swindle  Kinesiology and Health Studies 
2004 Coletta C. Barrett     School of Nursing 
2003 Dr. Michael Berry Kinesiology and Health Studies 
2002  Dr. Leroy Fanning   

Kinesiology and Health Studies