News Release

Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

Southeastern announces 2010 Homecoming Queen and Beau Courts

Contact: Tonya Lowentritt


1) Homecoming 2010 Queen Court2) Homecoming 2010 Beau Court

1) 2010 SOUTHEASTERN HOMECOMING COURT – Seven Southeastern Louisiana University students have been chosen as members of the 2010 Homecoming court and will reign over Homecoming festivities, Oct. 18-23. Chosen as members of the queen’s court were, from left, front, Jenee Ratelle of Baton Rouge, DeAnn Lemus of Belle Chasse, Amanda Rivault of Lafayette; back, Keturah Green of St. Gabriel, Charika Tolliver, Olivia Landry and Jessica Poumaroux all of Baton Rouge.

2) 2010 SOUTHEASTERN HOMECOMING BEAU COURT -- Members of Southeastern Louisiana University’s 2010 Homecoming beau court are, from left, front, Matt Taylor of Terrytown, Jerel Butler of New Orleans, Adam Kendrick of St. Francisville; back, Christopher McKinley of Baton Rouge, Christopher Robinson, Jr. of New Orleans, Casey Thomas of Ponchatoula, and Brett Farlow of Denham Springs.

     HAMMOND – Fourteen Southeastern Louisiana University students have been chosen as members of the 2010 Homecoming queen and beau courts. The seven women and seven men will reign over Homecoming festivities Oct. 18-23.
     Chosen as members of the queen court were seniors Olivia Landry, Jenee Ratelle and Charika Tolliver of Baton Rouge, and DeAnn Lemus of Belle Chasse; juniors Keturah Green of  St. Gabriel, Jessica Poumaroux of Baton Rouge; and sophomore Amanda Rivault of Lafayette. 
     Members of the beau court are seniors Jerel Butler and Christopher Robinson, Jr. of New Orleans and Matt Taylor of Terrytown; and juniors Brett Farlow of Denham Springs, Adam Kendrick of St. Francisville, Christopher McKinley of Baton Rouge and Casey Thomas of Ponchatoula.
     The 2010 queen and beau, the top junior or senior vote-getters in the recent online campus election, will be announced at halftime of the Homecoming football game when the Lions take on McNeese State on Homecoming Day, Oct. 23, at 6 p.m. in Strawberry Stadium.
     The court also will participate in Homecoming festivities such as Gumbo Ya Ya on Oct. 20, the bonfire and pep rally on Oct. 22, and the 3 p.m. Homecoming Day parade.
     Landry, a marketing major, is sweetheart of Alpha Omicron Pi. She is a member of Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society, the American Marketing Association, the National Society of Leadership and Success and Sigma Tau Gamma’s White Rose Court. She is a Green ‘S’ Award recipient and a Student Foundation Leadership Scholarship recipient.
     Ratelle is majoring in marketing. She is a member of Alpha Omicron Pi, Gamma Beta Phi, the American Marketing Association, Campus Outreach, Excel Leadership, and the Order of Omega Athletic Advisory Committee. She was Greek Woman of the Year in 2009, received the Alpha Omicron Pi Ruby ‘A’ Award and was a Foundation Leadership Scholarship recipient.
     Tolliver, a business management major, is vice president of the Student Government Association (SGA). She is a member of the Society of Human Resource Management, NAACP, and Gamma Beta Phi. She has been on the President’s and Dean’s List since her freshman year and was Executive of the Year in 2009-10.
     Lemus, a criminal justice major, is sweetheart of Kappa Sigma fraternity. She is a member of Phi Mu fraternity, Impact, and a member of the Student Conduct Hearing Board. She is the current Phi Mu president, was the junior class Sweetheart in 2009, is a Green ‘S’ Award recipient and has been on the Dean’s or President’s List every semester.
     Green, an organizational communication major, is sweetheart of University Housing. She is a member of Gamma Beta Phi, National Society of Collegiate Scholars and a resident assistant. She is a Female Rising Star and has remained on the President’s List since her freshman year. She also received the African American Achievement Award.
     Poumaroux is sweetheart and member of Phi Mu fraternity. A communication major, she is a member of the Student Auxillary Services Advisory Board, College of Republicans and the Spanish Club. She was crowned Miss Southeastern 2009 and is on the Dean’s List.
     Rivault is a communication sciences and disorders major. She is a member of Alpha Omicron Pi, Excel Leadership, Gamma Beta Phi, the Auxillary Board Committee, College of Republicans and serves on the Student Technology Fee Committee. She is a past SGA freshman senator, was voted the most outstanding new member of Alpha Omicron Pi, and is the 2010 Freshman Woman of the Year.
     Jerel Butler, beau of Kappa Alpha Psi, is a finance major. He is president and a member of Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity, co-captain of the track and field team and a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. He helped lead Southeastern to its first ever Southland Conference outdoor track championship and has been on the Dean’s or President’s List for the past three years.
     Robinson is majoring in journalism and is beau of Gamma Beta Phi. He is a member and vice president of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, Order of Omega Greek Honor Society, SGA Director of Athletic Affairs and National Pan-Hellenic Council President. He is also a decathlete on the Lion track team.
     Taylor, a sports management major, is beau, past president and a member of Delta Tau Delta fraternity. He is also a member of the Sports Management Association. He is the recipient of the 2008 Spirit of Orientation Award and was the 2008 Outstanding Committee Chairman for Delta Tau Delta.
     Farlow is a psychology major. He is a member and has been honored as a Founding Father of Kappa Sigma fraternity, is a member of the Student Foundation Board, and is co-founder of the Brazilian Jui-Jitsu Club. He is on the President’s List and was a member of the 2009 Homecoming Court as the Sophomore Beau.
     Kendrick, a criminal justice major, is beau of Phi Mu fraternity. He is a member of Excel Leadership, Kappa Sigma fraternity, a former Southeastern cheerleader who served as captain in 2009, and is treasurer of the Inter-Fraternity Council (IFC). He is also on the President’s List.
     McKinley is an organizational communication major and beau of the Black Student Union. He is a member of the Southeastern Student Foundation Board, NAACP and the Black Student Union. He is co-workshop director of Project P.U.L.L., a student mentoring organization.
     Thomas, a kinesiology major, is beau of Alpha Omicron Pi. He is a member and president of Theta Xi fraternity, secretary of the Kinesiology and Health Studies Club, and recruitment chair of College Republicans. He is also a recipient of the Green ‘S’ Award.
     For additional information about Southeastern Homecoming events, contact the Alumni Association at (985) 549-2150 or 1-800-SLU-ALUM or visit


More News...