Southeastern Alumni Association announces GOLD Council


Tuesday, July 31, 2018 Gold Council
by: Tonya Lowentritt 

GOLD COUNCIL MEMBERS ANNOUNCED – The Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association announced its 2018-19 GOLD Council members. Seated, from left, are Renee Picou, Yazmyn Smith and Malayne Sharp. Standing, from left, are Chris Mycoskie, Marjorie Parker, Shane Purvis, Michael Kyles and David Cavell. Not pictured are Shawn Gatlin, William Takewell, Jeremy and Rebecca Troulliet.

     HAMMOND – The Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association recently announced the newly appointed 2018-19 GOLD (Graduates Of the Last Decade) Council members.
     Members include David Cavell of Thibodeaux; Shawn Gatlin of Brooklyn, N.Y.; Michael Kyles, Jr., Marjorie Parker and Yazmyn Smith of Hammond; Chris Mycoskie of McKinney, Tex.; Renee Picou of Livingston; Shane Purvis of Mandeville; Malayne Sharp of Denham Springs; William Takewell of Lexington, Ky.; and Jeremy Troulliet and Rebecca Schnadelbach Troulliet of Ponchatoula.
     Executive Director of Alumni Relations Michelle Biggs said the GOLD Council is dedicated to fostering and sustaining relationships with graduates from Southeastern of the last decade to keep them engaged and actively involved with the university.
     “We were very pleased with the tremendous interest in this new initiative and received 24 outstanding applications, further proving that our young alumni are certainly doing impressive things,” said Biggs. “It was a tough decision, as we ranked the applicants on the basis of their former campus involvement, professional experience and community engagement, taking into consideration a broad representation of class years, geographic location, ethnic diversity, and gender. In the end, we chose 12 individuals who were the best of the best to represent our graduates of the last decade.”
     Biggs said the council advises the Office of Alumni Relations and assists with developing programs and communications tailored to the newest alumni. It also acts to shepherd the development of volunteers and future leaders in ways that deepen their commitment to Southeastern and prepare them for active alumni leadership roles.
     Members are selected from a body of former students who have graduated from Southeastern within the last 10 years. They serve a two-year term with the option of serving two terms.

More News...